Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


McLoughlin Middle School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
The girls up front are nice and that's it! they help but they are just the office people, I cant stand this school.

McLoughlin Middle School 1

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
This Is one of the worst schools ever, the teachers don't care at all, they say I will call you and they don't care at all, The teachers and staff don't return emails at all, do not put you child in this school!


McLoughlin Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 13, 2015
- a student
In 6 and 7 it wasn't that much. Now in 8 I have how in every class except English

McLoughlin Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 13, 2015
- a student
They trying to get rid of gangs the attire is pretty much gang colors. And the teachers are rude

McLoughlin Middle School 1

Posted October 13, 2015
- a student
The dress code is ridiculous, my mom never can find Mac attire cloths. They have vending machines right there but they get mad when you use them like get it taken away there's no point in having it there. An about the dress code we could tell who's poor by what shoes people have this school sucks glad this is my laste year


McLoughlin Middle School 5

Posted August 08, 2014
- a parent
Every student had an iPad and a new technology focused curriculum last year. It also has some very hard working teachers.

McLoughlin Middle School 5

Posted April 19, 2014
- a parent
Mac is a great school all things considered. Teachers care and work extra hard to take care of the students. It's more diverse than a lot of schools in the district which is a plus. It isn't full of spoiled rich kids like other near by private schools. Teachers and principals really care. I just wish more students and parents were proud of their neighborhood school and continued to grow community pride and involvement in this historic school.

McLoughlin Middle School 1

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
This school is one if the worst in the world. Teachers expect to respect them but they don't respect you. They NEVER help anyone. The dress code is ridiculous because McLaughlin is the only school in bad to have a dress code. The principles yell at you teachers say bad words and talk behind your back to other teachers. I think this school needs new principles and teachers or be shut down.


McLoughlin Middle School 5

Posted July 23, 2011
- a community member
I love this school. (: It is so awesome and great. The teachers a cool. My 6th grade math teacher, ms. Pappan is the BEST. I love you. Sincerely, Denisa Husic

McLoughlin Middle School 1

Posted April 29, 2011
- a parent
The previous Principal was excellent. The high-ranking comments from 2009 and before were because of his leadership, in my opinion. The current Principal is terrible. There are non-stop verbal fights between students using vulgarities I cannot repeat here, increasing in intensity because the problem isn't dealt with promptly. Eventually these verbal conflicts become physical altercations, not just between 2 students, but between gangs of friends (because it escalates to that extreme). This would have never happened with the previous administration. The kids fear for their safety and there is little supervision or protection. One security guard simply walked away when my student asked for help. When a girl called my daughter "Ugly," the counselor's response was, "Well have you looked in the mirror lately?" The Principal's way of dealing with the violent girl cliques is to create a new one called the "Sisterhood" Group. From what I understand, this group was established to get the bullies and their victims together to "work things out." It isn't working.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

McLoughlin Middle School
5802 MacArthur Blvd, Vancouver, WA  98661
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (360) 313-3600
Last modified McLoughlin Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top