Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
38 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Student (1 response)
characters left.
There are 53 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Grateful to: Student

Posted February 27, 2016
- a student
Thank you Kate for being an awesome buddy in the buddy program and helping me so much!

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted February 27, 2016
- a student
I have had a math teacher this year (shout out to Mrs, Avery) who has changed the way I see mathematics and helped me a great deal. However, there are some teachers who make the work incredibly easy for students, and make tests basically give away what the answer is.


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted February 27, 2016
- a student
It's a very mixed format, but lately I've been getting about 1-2 hours a week in each class which is about 8-10 hours a week total.

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a student
We have sooooo many social organizations for newcomers to meet new people and have a buddy program where an older student acts as a mentor and helps a new kid out and acts as their all around friend.

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 27, 2016
- a student
My school has been an excellent learning experience for me as a student. We constantly are challeneged in group activities especially in CORE class, which is a class in which you work to create art pieces independently/ with a group.


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics 5

Posted June 16, 2015
- a student
I just completed my 6th grace year at VSAA. I have to say, I loved it. The way the school runs is unlike any other school. Not only do we have art classes, but every class integrates the arts. For example, in language arts, we did an authors study. Some of the assignments we had were to make a bust of our favorite character from the chosen book out of clay, acting out a scene, and making a puppet show. In this way, we learned about language arts and also theatre, visual arts and literary arts all at once. The school environment is amazing as well. Everyone is friendly, everyone wants to help you do well in your classes. School spirit is very positive. The way VSAA selects its students is not based on artistic talent or grades. Rather, it is based on how well you work in a group, your willingness to learn, your over all attitude, and if you want to learn ALL the art forms. I love the teachers, everyone down to the lunch lady loves being with us every day, and do their job well. I can't possibly imagine a better place to be at everyday!!

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted June 16, 2015
- a student
The teachers at VSAA connect to the students in ways many teachers don't. Since this is a small school, teachers know all their students by name an might wave to them in the hall. These personal relationships can be very effective when teaching. By integrating the arts, teachers are able to keep a classes attention longer, help them focus on the lesson better, and help students remember the information better. Overall, all our teachers are able to do this. Also, if a student is having trouble with the class he/she is taking, the teachers always do anything they can to help them.

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted June 16, 2015
- a student
It really does depend on the teacher you get, but overall we get a decent amount of homework. I usually have between 30 minutes and a 90 minutes of homework.


Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a student
Resoecg is a big part of the school. For example, if you are disrespectful in a esembly( we call them showcases), like using your phone while an artists is showing their work, you will be asked to leave. Being respectful is very important to us.

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 16, 2015
- a student
One example of this is "day of caring". On this day, the entire school goes out and serves they community, doing things like cleaning up downtown, helping at elementary schools, weeding gardens etc. there was also a week where the school gave compliments to each other on clothespins. The way this would work is something like, "your really cool" would be written on the pin, and you would pin the pin onto someone. Then, the person who got it would give it to someone else. Another example is we had strings to tie around wrists, and whenever you tied a string around someone's wrist, you had to give a compliment. The idea was the person would remember the compliment the entire day.

Nearby schools

Vancouver School of Arts and Academics
3101 Main St, Vancouver, WA  98663
(360) 313-4600
Last modified Vancouver School of Arts and Academics is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top