Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Heritage High School

Public | 9-12 | 2062 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 6, 2013

I work at Heritage. It is a good school with a lot of resources for all of the students here. However, every parent needs to know that cell phones are not welcome in the classroom. Your child is not doing well because they won't put their phones away during class and focus on learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 5, 2013

this is a good high school for the most part . but one math teacher needs to be removed from the evergreen school dist .i disc like paying taxes on teacher that not there for are kids
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2012

What a Circus! Between the district and the school, there seems to be less than no communication, no one within the school knows what anyone else is doing and asking questions invites a wild goose chase for answers. As a parent, I encountered a handful of caring individuals willing to invest effort in my intelligent, yet charmingly lazy, senior. The admin, however took all year to realize some PE credits didn't transfer and he needed more. Would have been helpful information, right? It's tough enough for a kid to realize his own mistakes, but add them to those made by the people in charge, and this could do much more harm than good. Willing to stake your child's education on this being a unique situation?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

I'm a Heritage alumni and while I had a great social experience, the education itself was average. Most teachers I had lacked solid credentials and there was a tendency to set the bar low. It was easy to skip, sleep, and not study while still attaining an A (including some AP classes). Overall the school doesn't prepare you for a good university at all since it's goal is to pass the dumbest students alive. If the student isn't smart, flunk them. Don't make the entire curriculum easier because of them. Due to this low bar, most students will be stuck going to weaker schools such as WSU. One reason for the below average student body and teachers is the fact that a major focus of many high schools includes extracurricular activities, and social events that distract the students from the actual education. etc...


Posted February 11, 2010

I go to heritage currently and its a great school but the teachers dont explain things enough and then pile homework on that we dont understand so our grades plumit when our homework has incorrect answers on it.... just something to think about!
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 20, 2009

I really wish it was easier to do multiple things. Big Brother Big Sister interferes with Running Start and sports such as swimming, and band. I would love to do clubs such as art or environmental club. There is a ton of things to do, but not enough time to do it all. Overall, I enjoyed Heritage, but high school is high school, there is always going to be the good kids, the bad kids, the good teachers, the bad teachers, the easy classes, and the hard classes. I don't know how to compare Heritage to to any other high schools, but it is a really good school, and there will always be nice kids to hang around. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 2, 2009

My child goes to this school and I think its the best school ever. I don't think I could have put her in a better school. It's a great school. The teacher involvement is incrediable. Great job heritage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2008

I am a sophemore at Heritage. We definately have alot of school spirit. Most of the teachers are amazing people and good at what they teach. There are alot of opportunities for people who like to dance, such as classes and after school teams. It isn't the best school if you are pursuing art however. There is a photography, drawing, pottery, and basic art class. I found it hard to get into one because they fill up really fast and there isn't much space considering the large amount of students in school. Of ourse, there are great fitness classes for anyone who loves being active or wants to get in shape.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 21, 2008

I am currently a sophomore at Heritage and love every minute of it. There are so many programs and activities to get involved in. We have a variety of sport and clubs. The classes are also plentiful. Art is encouraged here with a required fine arts credit. There is a great drama program and also photography, pottery, and drawing. Physical Ed. is also strongly encouraged because of the 2 credits required. Standardized testing isn't a huge deal which is good especially if you want your student to care about the work instead ofworking hard to get the grade. The teachers are fantastic with a different style of teaching. Uhm.. there are 4 computer labs which can be used after school. Hope this helps.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2007

The education is great and the teachers teach good.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 25, 2007

arts are encouraged at heritage you need 1 art credit to graduate.teachers are involved with students their opinion is listened to.we do not have poor school spirit,if we did our stands would be quiet at the games.it may be overcrowded but that will change when union9new school in the district) opens in the fall.i as a student have seen others part of multiple clubs and it is not difficult.we hardly get tresspassers at all.the administration helps students by working with them if they get into trouble.they try to help them suceed.i reccomend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

Arts are great but not encouraged. some teachers are less than involved with students. Poor school spirit and involvment lead to kids who dont care and many failed attempts at 'community atmosphere'. Realistically its over crowded and heading in a bad direction. Clubs dont interact well so its difficult to be a part of multiple ones. Administration seems to be very worried about outsiders will think but they dont spend enough time actually helping students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2006

Heritage is a pretty good school, and its after school activities are very good. it has many choices for all different types of people attending.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 14, 2005

Heritage is a great high school. Not only does it provide advanced placement classes for nearly every subject, but it has programs for every level of development. You can tell the teachers want to be there, which gives the environment a very positive feel. As for the extracurricular activities, the sports teams, though I didn't pay close attention, were pretty good. They also had debate, science olimpiad, and a sort of law(trial) event. Parents were involved whenever they wished. The senior party was completely controlled by parents with little to no help by the administrators. Parents also had many random events they had set up occasionaly. It all depends on how involved a parent wishes to be.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2005

Great school. Great Arts, Choir, Drama. Computers in two labs out dated soon to be replaced. Auditorium not at highest quality standards.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 18, 2004

I am a student that is currently attending Heritage and am starting as a Junior. Heritage has helped me become better in social atmospheres and has helped me become an accomplished Track athlete. My outlook on the next year and college years has been opened to help me get a scholarship and to help me better understand the career choice I have made. I would suggest heritage to anyone whether they were family or friends. The athletics are very accomplished as well as the choir and band. It also offers an array of different extra curricular activities that help on college transcripts and with job interviews. So keep up the good work Heritage. Go T-WolveS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 10, 2003

What a joke, i find the AP article about the special education program appalling. administrators and teachers alike should be ashamed of themselves.


Posted June 29, 2003

I'm actually not a parent, but a student at heritage high school. I'm just starting my senior year at HHS and have really enjoyed my years here. HHS has a fantastic music program with dedicated, passionate teachers and talented role model students in all grades. Outside of the band-geek croud that I reside within, the students have a lot of clubs that encourage community envolvement in cultural diversity, economic and government debate, art and literature, and the environment. Despite being a very new school, it has already made significant accomplishments and won awards with its wrestling team, dance team, and band. I have had a blast here, and can't wait to see what we achieve next year!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 54% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 82% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
93%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 53% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
34%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 96% in 2013.

145 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
93%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 22% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 66% in 2013.

350 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
62%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 28% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
10%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 61% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
58%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 19% in 2013.

30 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
17%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
70%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 35% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 30% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
17%

2011

 
 
10%
Integrated Math II

The state average for Integrated Math II was 23% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
37%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 15% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 34% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 20% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Integrated Math I

The state average for Integrated Math I was 18% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students84%
Female81%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income78%
Not low income90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Female46%
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asian55%
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic35%
Multiracial38%
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low income51%
Special education48%
Not special educationn/a
Limited English39%

Integrated Math II

All Students93%
Female93%
Male93%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Low income93%
Not low income94%
Not special education93%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Students62%
Female56%
Male66%
Black43%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islander57%
Hispanic53%
Multiracial65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White65%
Low income58%
Not low income68%
Special education61%
Not special education62%
Limited English14%
Migrantn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English38%

Integrated Math II

All Students49%
Female48%
Male50%
Black27%
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracial67%
White51%
Low income50%
Not low income48%
Special education38%
Not special education50%
Limited English50%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Students17%
Female13%
Male21%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White8%
Low income19%
Not low income14%
Special educationn/a
Not special education14%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Integrated Math I

All Students38%
Female24%
Male52%
White42%
Low income34%
Not low income42%
Not special education37%

Integrated Math II

All Students15%
Female13%
Male18%
Hispanic18%
White18%
Low income16%
Not low income14%
Special education8%
Not special education17%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited Englishn/a

Integrated Math I

All Studentsn/a
Malen/a
Whiten/a
Low incomen/a
Not low incomen/a
Not special educationn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used End-of-Course (EOC) examinations to assess students in Algebra I, Geometry, Integrated Math I, Integrated Math II, and Biology. The EOC tests are standards-based, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2010.

457 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 84% in 2013.

459 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2011.

518 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
30%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 85% in 2013.

449 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Reading

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
Black69%
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander81%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Low income77%
Not low income85%
Special education54%
Not special education84%
Limited English21%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female86%
Male80%
Black50%
Asian88%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic74%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income80%
Not low income87%
Special education48%
Not special education87%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the High School Proficiency Exam (HSPE) to test students in reading and writing in grade 10. Math skills are tested by the End-of-Course (EOC) exams. The HSPE is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
Black 4% 5%
Two or more races 4% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 14%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 253%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 19N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7825 NE 130th Ave
Vancouver, WA 98682
Phone: (360) 604-3400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Prairie High School
Brush Prairie, WA



Home Choice Academy
Vancouver, WA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT