Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fir Grove Childrens Center 1

Posted November 29, 2014
- a parent
Fir Grove is what we called an alternative school when I grew up in Seattle. It was where the surrounding schools in the area placed children that had behavioral issues, and the inability to function in a traditional public school setting. When our school district suggested our special needs child be placed at Fir Grove, it was with the belief that this school and their staff were best prepared to educate our son. Unfortunately, we've learned the hard way that this school has a stigma in the community and with law enforcement. If your child has any propensity to become violent because of their mental disability, I would highly advise that you consider other means of educating your child before you allow your school district to place them at Fir Grove. This school WILL be a gateway of introducing your child to the juvenile justice court system, and you will wish you had been warned.

Fir Grove Childrens Center 5

Posted August 24, 2010
- a parent
This school has helped my son immensely. he has progressed at Fir Grove beyond what I thought he could.


Fir Grove Childrens Center 1

Posted September 15, 2009
- a parent
My child went to this school for years and I thought it was the most horrible school ever. He did not learn anything from going there but a bunch of bad behavior that he didn't need to learn. I was told by one of his teachers that he will never be successful and will not graduate. Well he hasn't been there for two years and last year he got a 3.5 gpa.

Fir Grove Childrens Center 5

Posted November 04, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended Fir Grove during a difficult time in her life. With the support from teachers and staff she was able to return to the mainstream and has had excellent success. This school and staff were largely part of her success.

Fir Grove Childrens Center 4

Posted August 28, 2008
- a parent
This school has done wonders for my son. He started there in 2nd grade and is now in 8th. It is a safe, encouraging, motivating, and understanding place to learn.


Fir Grove Childrens Center 1

Posted March 07, 2008
- a teacher
Vancouver School District should be ashamed of itself for neglecting this school and the children attending it. It is ancient and there are factories that have more appeal. The library is virtually non-existent. This district shows off it's newer schools and has hidden Fir Grove, with it's special needs children, under the rug. There are well-qualified teachers at Fir Grove, including one National Board Certified teacher, but it is very apparent that Vancouver School District considers the children of Fir Grove unworthy of a proper school environment. Visit this school in person and let Vancouver schools know what you find.

Fir Grove Childrens Center 1

Posted February 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fir Grove Childrens Center 1

Posted December 17, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fir Grove Childrens Center 1

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Fir Grove Childrens Center 5

Posted January 12, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fir Grove Childrens Center
2920 Falk Rd, Vancouver, WA  98661
(360) 313-1800
Last modified Fir Grove Childrens Center is a Public school that serves grades 1-12
Fir Grove Childrens Center Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top