Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

York Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

I just graduated the school this year and the journey through the school was great all of my years there. I love all of the things they do and such great curriculum. I am an Explorer!


Posted March 9, 2010

My kids have had the priveledge of attending York Elementary. One has graduated from York and the other will this year. If we're lucky our 3rd child will attend. The staff are great and seem to be just as passionate about our kids as we are. I would recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

My daughter is very fortunate to go to this school. The leadership is exceptional. The principal is GREAT. She has high expectations for her teachers and does lead with PRIDE! Her best interest is in the kids. The educators are amazing and well respected.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2009

They have the best teachers and my daughters have learned alot there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2009

I will never be able to say enough about York and the Staff. The support that my family has received from the Staff and Students and families from York will be with us always. My husband past away almost four months ago. He lost his life to cancer. Mrs. Harris and the staff went over and beyond being just my kids teachers. They have helped carry us through this very difficult time. What most parents need to know, is that there where over 10 staff memebers, including Mrs. Harris, Ms. Penney and Mr. Graves who attended my Husbands service. This helped my children in so many ways. I know it helped them return to school when the time came. I'll never be able to say enough about York Elementary and what they stand for. Thank You. The Rogers Family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

This school was much better when Mr. Nadal was in charge. The school has suffered with the new principal. However, my children deal with the teachers mostly and I love the ones that my kids have had. I feel the administraion at this school should lay off the teachers and let them teach our future adults. Lead with kindness not pride.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2007

Wow! what can I say? I wrote a review over a year ago and things have not changed, I love this school. I wish my son who graduated 5th grade here could stay here. The kids feel safe and loved at this school, I wish I could take the teachers to where ever we are moving to. Both my kids are doing exceptioally well and its because of the York teachers. We were very lucky to have this school open up next to us. A BIG thank you to all of you wonderful teachers. Keep up the great work!! See ya next month when school starts again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

'I am Respectful, Responsible, Curious, Hardworking and Safe!' My Kindergarten daughter came home singing this mantre with pride in her new school. When asked, she explains with this song, York staff helps kids to think about the choices they make each day and whether or not their actions support their values. Such a simple song, but it represents the personal pride both students and staff take in being a part of their York school community. Bright, energetic, creative and dedicated teachers seem to always find their own ways to go above and beyond for our kids. With two children currently attending and one graduated from York, I would never sent them anywhere else. A huge Kudos to York Elementary teachers, staff and students!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2006

my son wen to York for Kindergarten and part of first grarde. We were really happy with the education he recieved. The staff was always nice and the his teachers were wonderful. I like that they did art, music and PE in different rooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

Beautiful, Nearly new facility, no room for portables (Yay!) so growth limited. Teachers seem really happy to be there, and the kids like it there. Parental involvement is strongly encouraged, and even front office staff knows the children by name. Both my children, 1- kindergarten and 1- 2nd grade, have both teacher and assistant in class. Class size is around 20 students per class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

Community feeling is everywhere from students to faculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2004

It has been a long time since I have seen a school so committed to the children. From the moment you are greeted at the office, there is nothing but a positive uplifting atmosphere. I have a grand daughter that graduated from the first 5th grade class this year and a grand daughter that will enter 1st grade at York this year. I am really pleased that my 1st grader will ger the full benefit of all that this wonderful school has to offer!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2004

Wow! What a great school...teacher commitment is awesome, PTA is cohesive and helpful and the principal and other staff are involved! Glad to be a part of such a wonderful place. All of the newness is wonderful too! I look forward to raising my family in this elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students72%
Female74%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income67%
Not low income77%
Special education27%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female74%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic64%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income69%
Not low income84%
Special education18%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students67%
Female80%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic60%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income68%
Not low income67%
Special education29%
Not special education76%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female78%
Male55%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income56%
Not low income72%
Special education53%
Not special education69%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students50%
Female60%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic40%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Low income44%
Not low income54%
Special education12%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female76%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income66%
Not low income70%
Special education17%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female89%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income66%
Not low income83%
Special education33%
Not special education84%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female84%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic75%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income66%
Not low income81%
Special education42%
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 60%
Hispanic 14% 20%
Two or more races 6% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 7%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 112%N/A8%
Special education 117%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 249%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 14N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 75%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9301 NE 152nd Ave
Vancouver, WA 98682
Phone: (360) 604-3975

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT