Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hosanna Christian School

Private | PK-8 | 147 students

We are best known for caring atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Vancouver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2013

We LOVE Hosanna. My oldest has been attending for 4 years and our youngest for 2 years and its been a great, supportive experience. I'm in constant communication with the teachers. My children are receiving an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2012

My child has been at this school since preschool. The teachers and support staff are very friendly. I like that they use ABeka it wonderful to see the books they read goes along with the Bible. I have really enjoyed my child getting a wonderful education here at Hosanna.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2011

All three of our children have attended Hosanna starting in Kindergarten. Our older children that have since tranisitioned into public school have both excelled acedemically, socially, and stand out above their peers for citzenship. Hosanna does and outstanding job of combining a solid education, along with teaching the word of the Lord and citizenship to students. The teachers have all been very supportive and we are proud to have been a part of such a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2011

My 3 children attended Hosanna from Preschool to 6th grade. I found the school to be very welcoming and caring. My children received a great education that helped them move smoothly into public school. The teachers are certificated and continue to take education classes to keep current with their skills. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2011

We have had our 11-year old daughter in this school now for 8 years! She started in pre-school, and now is in the 5th grade. I work in a local public elementary school, and I can confidently say that the education my daughter is getting at Hosanna is far and away better and more well-rounded than what the kids in my school are receiving. ALL of her teachers have been certified. But more than that, they have all been careful to communicate with us as to what WE might do to help her in her success as a student. We are much more than "satisfied" with the schooling our daughter is getting. We are grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2011

Inadequate teaching skills in staff along with poor knowledge of early childhood development. Some teachers are not certified. I will be looking for another school.


Posted January 30, 2010

I was disappointed in the quality of the preschool program at Hosanna. I was surprised that at half way through the year, he was still unable to hold a pencil and adequately cut with scissors. At home he could color with precision yet at school his coloring looked like a toddler's performance. Communication between parent and teacher was hardly adequate and thorough. In summary I'd say that my child lacked the individual attention needed for student success, and thus withdrew him from Hosanna and admitted him to another local private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

My child went to school at Hosanna for 6 yrs. and is now attending public school with much better success. I found the teaching staff to be under educated and many not certified. Also, this school is a dumping ground for children with behavioral problems that are not otherwise accepted in the public school system or are expelled from there. My child had a great deal of difficulty learning, because the disruptive students created a difficult learning environment. Some of the teaching staff, were verbally abusive at times due to the hostile environment caused by the students with behavioral problems. The administrative staff were ill equipped to deal decisively with the the hostile students prolonging the problem. My child left Hosanna being at least 2 yrs behind in the core subjects, because of these issues. Overall since transferring to public school my child's overall core education has improved 30%.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2008

My family has had a wonderful experience at Hosanna for the last 2 years!! The staff is so caring and committed to their students and the curriculum is as good, if not better than the surrounding schools. My daughter just finished Kindergarten and was reading at a 1st Grade level! I am so proud!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2008

I went to school at hosanna and enjoyed all the staff and students now I am attending Skyview High school and appreciate the teacher who taught me how important it is to keep Christianity in my life
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 29, 2007

I am most pleased with the academics my child received last year and we are back this year. Mrs. Bean at Hosanna was sweet and polite and exhibited good Christian behavior like you would expect at a private Christian school. Class size is small, teachers work with issues and excellent communication with parents. I highly recommend to everyone. Remember what matters most - your kid's education! Good morals and ethics a a foundation here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

My daughter has attended since Pre-K. She is now in 5th grade. We love it. The staff has always treated us with respect. The faculty members truly care about their students. They have done an excellent job at encouraging her and helping her develop a positive sense of self.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2006

My daughter is currently enrolled here in Pre Kindergarten, and as a parent I absolutely love it! The programs are great, the teacher to student ratio is low and there is absolutely 100% positive influence, just the type of environment that every parent looks for when choosing a school for their children. 100% recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 64%
Hispanic 5% 16%
Asian 2% N/A
Black 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Pastor Steve Briner
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Other
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (360) 694-0224

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4120 NE St Johns Rd
Vancouver, WA 98661
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 906-0941

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT