Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Columbia Valley Elementary School 5

Posted May 23, 2016
- a parent
I absolutely love this school. My kids have learned so much in the short time we have been here. Not to mention the staff, principal and pto are all amazing people.

Columbia Valley Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
Thank you Mr. Fernandez for being a great leader for this school. I have volunteered here and have seen how you interact with your staff members in passing and it is such a joy to see. Your commitment to these staff members and the children is amazing.


Columbia Valley Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
They go above and beyond to engage the kids and interest them in learning. this has helped my 4th grader go from crying every night about not being smart enough (at her other school) to feeling empowered to do better.

Columbia Valley Elementary School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
There is a no homework policy. Students have to ability to do homework if they want to but teachers are not to reprimand them or hand out class-wide homework. That being said, I do wish they had some homework so that us parents can see what they are doing with out having to have a conference with the teacher.

Columbia Valley Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
I applaud Columbia Valley for not rewarding their kids with every tiny accomplishment, or for just trying. Kids get awards for accomplishments that the student had to work hard to get. This gives them drive to achieve.


Columbia Valley Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
To the best of their ability. Again, it all starts with the parents getting involved and being a healthy role model for the kids.

Columbia Valley Elementary School
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
The school is always trying through many different avenues. It just seems like the parents need to be involved in some of this so that the support can be strengthened at home.

Columbia Valley Elementary School 4

Posted March 31, 2016
- a parent
This is my kids first year here at Columbia Valley and I can say the staff is amazing! Mr. Fernandez goes above and beyond to make a positive atmosphere. The counselor is always willing to help the kids sort through their problems, whether it be home or school related. The teachers are very creative and do their best to not only give the kids a great education but to make it fun and engaging. My only complaint is with the parents. Not many are willing to give up time and volunteer. One activity had to be canceled because of this. All in all I am glad my children are a part of this wonderful school.


Columbia Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 17, 2015
- a parent
Our school is simply, amazing! We have the best staff and principal, period. Both my kids have special needs and are so well loved and taken care of by the teaching staff and Mr. Fernandez our fantastic principal. The staff are so dedicated to educating and helping our children. I wouldn't want to be anywhere else. The facilities are fantastic as are the programs offered to the kids. Mr. Fernandez greets the kids every single morning with a cup of coffee in hand, he literally knows them all by name, it's really touching. Love our school so much!!!!

Columbia Valley Elementary School 5

Posted June 15, 2014
- a parent
I absolutely LOVE this school. Both my children have had amazing teachers. All of the staff truly cares- from the principal down to the bus drivers. Having been in several other states and schooling systems, Evergreen school district, and more specifically, Columbia Valley, is by far the best! I could not be happier with the education and life skills my children are learning. Thank you to all the staff that puts in the long hours and hard work!

Nearby schools

Columbia Valley Elementary School
17500 Se Sequoia Cr, Vancouver, WA  98683
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (360) 604-3375
Last modified Columbia Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top