Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

La Esquela/Language Academy

Private | PK-3

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Vancouver

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $150,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 27, 2012

I have been trying to contact the Language Academy, and have failed to have any email, FB message, or phone call returned. I can see having a break during the summer, but do the administrators check messages? Not a great first impression. :( I was excited to learn more about the programs and the school for my son, in hopes that he could begin in the fall. However, being a teacher myself, I believe in a strong, open line of communication...and so far, that has not been modeled. I guess I will have to look around further for quality education.


Posted January 10, 2011

I cannot be more dissapointed in this school. The staff is all leaving and it isn't their fault. It's the administrators who are never there (one is in FL) and are sucking the school dry of money but pushing the parents to do more. If you can't afford to keep teachers, why not keep the teacher who can do the most? While it's too late to move now, i can assure you we will not be back for next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2010

It seems curious that the reviewer who defends this school couldn't bring themself to give it 5 stars either. Its always easy to pass the buck to the parents..maybe this is the one whos running the place?


Posted September 15, 2010

My child has been with this school for several years and we are extremely pleased with not only the Spanish portion but the advanced curriculum being taught. All of the teachers are wonderful and truly care about the students they teach. Parent involvement is strongly encouraged and necessary (as it is with any school) but is unfortunately lacking with a couple of the families. A previous reviewer attributes students being held back to the school and yet the two students that have been held back are from the same family, which indicates there may be something more going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

We were disappointed to return this year and find the student body so reduced. The "founder"s children had not returned despite lip service to the dream and life goal claimed by those individuals to make this school successful. Every year the school has gotten smaller, rather than growing. Bright energetic pupils are being held back and stifled by the rigidity of the prinicpal's ' ineffective discipline. The prinicpal himself (a founder) also has abdicated his responisbility to the school and left a parent in charge of the day to day operations. We are uncomfortable with the apparent instability of the organization and are looking at alternative options
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2010

We appreciate the reviews acknowledging the outstanding Core Knowledge curriculum and the sound concept of our school. And the recognition for accomplishing our goal of teaching topics above grade level is truly pleasing. Since founding La Escuela / Language Academy, Inc. we have worked and continue to work diligently on meeting and exceeding the mission of our school. We implemented fundraising events that are more in line with other private schools and non-profits in our local area in an effort to better meet the needs and requests of our clients and still maintain a moderately low-tuition rate. We take it very seriously when we learn that any client feels the mission is not being accomplished in any manner, regardless of the reasons. We have addressed these concerns and are always working to improve our school. I am always available to discuss any matter involving the school. Melissa S. Wilson, Founder


Posted July 9, 2009

I agree with the posting of April 1, 2009 in so much as it is a fantastic concept and foundation. The CK and Spanish immersion education concept is fabulous and was very good. Unfortunately, the quality of the education has declined. Even the use of Spanish diminished over the past year. The teachers are stressed, disenfranchized and are resigning. Many families are leaving the school. Fund raising is pushed so hard that it's difficult to remember any other activities or interests in the past year. The parents are nickeled and dimed constantly. The financials are not transparent and which only leads to speculation. While we would like to have faith in direction the school is taking, we just don't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2009

A fantastic concept and foundation. The Core Knowledge base and mult-lingual education my child receives is top notch. I would like to see more experience on the staff and some more clarity with the work, but very good overall! PreK through 3rd and growing every year!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7703 NE 72nd Ave
Vancouver, WA 98661
Phone: (360) 883-5658

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT