Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Image Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 597 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

I have 2 children that go to Image. One of them has been attending Image for 2 years now, and I have had nothing but problems with the staff at this school. My daughter is always being teased and bullied, and when I went to confront the current principal about it she brushed it off like it was nothing. I have seen alot of favoritism in this school, If you look different or low income they treat you differently than those who look of higher class. The teachers are also allowed to have their own children in their classroom as students, and they tend to pay more attention to them than the actual students, I have seen it. I am so happy that I am removing my daughters from this school. There is too much favoritism, bullying, and discrimination at this school. So if you want your little ones to go through that, then by all means register them for this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

I have very little complaints. Image was amazing with our oldest (diagnosed with Peter's Plus Syndrome), they gave her the attention and specialized instruction she needed to excel in school. The only complaints I have is that we had issues with our middle daughter (diagnosed ADHD, SPD, and anxiety). They were unwilling to write a 504 plan as the teacher was willing to accommodate without it. They were also unwilling to help my child when the issue was the fact that she was bored in class because she had already met their end of year goals. My child just had to sit and wait the entire school year learning pretty much nothing. She's currently being tested for their excel program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Love the staff and teacher lacount is a very good k teacher. The school has great principles they teach there students. They care about each child individually. Smaller l grade classes would be helpful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2012

good school very good school i like it very much good teachers and staff i like the school


Posted September 22, 2009

Image is a fairly large elementary school and it is one big family.


Posted September 16, 2009

Image Elementary School provides a safe, compassionate, rigorous learning environment where students can learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

The education is about the same as elsewhere since the 'leave every child behind the globe' act. Three quarters of the year is spent teaching the wasteful test, rather than stimulating our children's brains. That aside, one thing this school really needs to work on is connecting wth the students and teaching tolerance. My daughter has attended this school for two years. Both years she and I have gone rounds with the school due to discrimination because of her eczema. She has mild to moderate eczema...really it's just red and bumpy. However, the kids in her classes have told her she's gross, refused to play with her, ganged up on her, and called her names in relation to a condition she has little to no control over. Her teachers response was to put my daughter in 'friendsip club' to learn social skills. The kids in question, were spoken to once.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2006

Image Rocks! I was new to school last year and everybody gave me a warm welcome to Image. It seemed like a paradise school. If your new and you want to find your kids a school,then enroll for Image. Newcomers welcome
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2006

I have been very pleasantly surprised with the quality of Image. After having our sons in private school for their first few years, I was nervous about the switch to public school. The principal, Lauren Hopson, has been excellent. Whenever I have come in with a question or concern of any kind, she's stopped whatever she is doing to invite me back to speak with her. She clearly cares a great deal for the students and she does her job with enthusiasm and conviction. The school councelor Jack works tirelessly with every student that has a need of any kind (he's great with the kids!). I've been equally pleased with the teachers our son's have had the past two years. They've been smart, energetic, creative, and supportive. Our overall experience has exceeded our expectations and I feel blessed to have our kids at Image Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2006

Image is a great school lots of great staff. great reading programs. They have a good music program, ans lots of after school parent/student involvment activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

Quality Of Academic Programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2006

I am not happy with the contribution of the school in academic advancement of my gifted kid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2005

Parents are involved at 50/50. Some really wonderful parents involved. Music and sports and activities available wonderfully because of district support. Art is available when parents give it. Academics are good but morale among teachers is not great due to principal..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2005

My children have attended Image for the past 5 years. I have been very impressed with most of the teachers. They are caring and strive to bring out the best in my children. I have been very pleased with my children's education, especially in the 1-3rd grades. However, I am very disappointd in the leadership of the school, especially the principal. The parents who volunteer, especially with the art discovery program, should be commended. The parent organization seems to be made up of the same volunteers and doesn't seem to welcome new parental involvement. As a parent, I have been very welcomed as a helper in my children's classrooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

My children have attended Image for 4 years and I highly reccomend the school. I have been pleased with the staff and principal. The children respect the staff, principals and counselor. The students are eager to learn and work together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2004

My family is new to Image this year. I received a warm welcome from the office staff as well as Mrs. Hopson and Mr Evans when I asked to meet them both. My child's 3rd grade teachers are absolutely wonderful. One teaches math, the other writing and reading. I was a bit nervous at first about moving schools and having my daughter have 2 teachers, but it has been terrific. Both women are nurturning, caring and have taught my daughter a great deal already in just 7 short weeks. I am so thankful for our transition. I cannot say enough about Image.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2004

I believe Mrs. Hopson has done a wonderful job as building administrator. She is open, gracious and available. The school now has a school-wide focus on literacy which they did not before. The teachers work very hard to do their best for each and every student at Image. I have been extremely proud of my children's growth the past few years. Image is a wonderful school, full of good teachers and capable staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2004

Bottom Line.... 1.Most of the teachers have and do put the children first. 2. Every school has a few bad eggs, Image is no exception. 3.The new teachers have alot to learn but are certainly not to blame. The Flip side... My experience with Image has been very pleasant, my children have been happy with their teachers as have I. The PTO does amazing things for this school. you can't blame the school for a district mistake. The school itself, principal aside is a wonderul place for kids to prosper and to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2004

2 years ago this was a wonderful school with wonderful leadership.Principal and staff and the PTO worked together beautifully. Although the past few years has lacked the same leadership qualities,the children are the same as are the teachers, everyone just seems to work a little more independantly. It is hard to see the school at this low point but we believe that we will get back on track soon and we can begin to mend the fences that have been broken over the past 2 years. This school has great potential and wonderful parents and teachers to support it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

My children have gone to Image for the last 3 years and I can say that the teachers are for the most part wonderful and completely dedicated to each child there, however since Mr Nadal has left, I feel that Mrs. Hopson lacks leadership ability and lacks professionalism that a building principal should have.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

96 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
37%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female68%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income55%
Not low income85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English63%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female76%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic56%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income57%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English44%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students62%
Female64%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income45%
Not low income89%
Special education36%
Not special education69%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students68%
Female80%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic54%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income60%
Not low income82%
Special education32%
Not special education78%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students59%
Female71%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic39%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income48%
Not low income76%
Special education27%
Not special education68%
Limited English30%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male72%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Low income62%
Not low income85%
Special education46%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female85%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic74%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Low income70%
Not low income93%
Special education46%
Not special education90%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students68%
Female63%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian80%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic53%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income54%
Not low income85%
Special education50%
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 63%
Hispanic 14% 18%
Asian 6% 7%
Black 5% 5%
Two or more races 5% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 156%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 214%N/A8%
Special education 213%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 10N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 68%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kathleen Keller

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4400 NE 122nd Ave
Vancouver, WA 98682
Phone: (360) 604-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Home Choice Academy
Vancouver, WA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT