Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Orchards Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 620 students

Our school is known for working together to do what is best for students.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

As a grandparent I am very impressed with ORCHARD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL. I have been in and out of this school several times in the past year. I feel confident that the staff and everyone volunteering etc. are for the best interest of the students. I wish all schools gave you the confidence of safety that Orchards Elementary does. Not having children in public school for several years it is very reassuring to know that Orchards Elementary offers everything in a school that I would have wanted for my own children twenty plus years ago. This is extremely crucial in the world we live in today. Please continue to do what you are doing best and that is "WHAT YOU HAVE BEEN DOING" Thank you,


Posted May 16, 2013

This school is the worst school I have ever seen. Teachers are rude. The staff is horrible. They talk to the kids with disrespect. The MUSIC teacher is the meanest of them all. Tried to sign my son up for sports or Crossing guard duties. She decided She had more right to my son then I did, Because doing other school activities are not as important as MUSIC. I can say that If I say my son can do something then he does it. We you talk to teachers or staff they are annoyed or over whelmed with that is going on around them. When you go in to the office to pick you kids up. You can actually see and hear how they talk to other students. I can't wait till the end of the school year to REMOVE my kids from this HORRIBLE school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2013

We love Orchards and are very sad that we are moving away because we are afraid we won't find another school like it! We wish we could pick the school up & take it with us! Our son has attended Orchards for the past 2 years and we have had nothing but great experiences with the teachers and staff! We've had great communication with the teachers and principal, our son LOVES going to school every day and he is challenged with and is excelling with the academics! We love that we get a weekly handout that highlights their learning goals for each subject that week, including a section to ask any questions we might have or address concerns. And any time we have had to contact the teachers by phone, they have been very pleasant and happy to talk with us. I do think more parents need to be involved in their children's learning and school activities. We are actually shocked to see this low score for Orchards because it is an amazing, academically high-standard, fun environment! I hope everyone's kids can experience how awesome Orchards is and they will benefit greatly from attending this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2012

This school helped our very shy and very timid kindegartener become a bit more confident and self sufficient. Her teacher went out of the way to make sure our kindegartener felt safe and secure. The teacher is even moving up to first grade next year so our kid that does not do well with any kind of change will have the stability she needs. The staff are all very warm and friendly, everyone of them I ever had interaction with were helpful and always smiling. This school is great. This school year we only had one student enrolled next year we will have 2 and I'm excited that my 4 year old will be attending this school as well when he gets old enough. Teachers, staff, and even PTA members were a pleasure to deal with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

This school has been amazing to my son he has learned so much this year the staff is very friendly and I have felt very comfortable with my son attending he will be there next year for sure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It has a great bunch of teachers and they care.


Posted August 25, 2009

The staff is very rude and disrepectful. The principal has no care for what the teachers act like towards the children which is defiently sub par behavior. If you are looking for a great school or for your child to stay long term DO NOT Look Here. Orchards is the worst school we have experienced in the evergreen school dist. Your child deserves more for education and this school is just not providing the education the children need. The reading and homework are so lacking it is sad as well as really getting there brains to work on projects it is also lacking. Orchards needs serious help and guidence from the other schools in the evergreen school dist. When will the dist see this school needs help on respect for parent envolvement, friendliness, openniss, teacher involvement, and extra activities. Which none are provided at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2009

I have been very disappointed with this school. My daughter was able to read anything and yet the school insisted she spend her time doing ABC's. When I asked for school/homework at her actual level, they told me I needed to purchase it myself. The last 2 months of school they did not even have money for the copy machine, so students received no homework. My child was constantly sent to the office for silly things, like playing with a pencil or reading a book-this opressiveness caused frequent crying spells. Some of the teachers are overly agressive with the students-physically and emotionally. I was yelled at by a teacher for calling her at home to ask a question. The staff has literally chased me down the hall, screaming, apparently it is against the rules there to walk your child to the classroom. Notes of school events often arrive the same day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

This school has literally changed my k-garteners life the skills learned are amazing!@
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

this is a great school my kids love it!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

All I can say about this school is that I have decided to home-school my child because of my experience with this school. I am outraged that our tax dollars are funding sub-standard education as well as staff that loves to do a whole lot of talking about how much they care about the kids and 'every kid' is important there. If you are about to send your child to this school (or Sunset Elementary) I would get out of the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2008

* Dont respond when you change plans for pickup. *Never communicate with parents about students and when parents do ask questions and or want to be involved the teachers act like its too much trouble to talk about your child and just basicly feel like you cannot be involved in your child education. * Needs help addressing the homework issue for some parents are not what papers are for what and no letters in backpacks. * Always get papers to late for activites. * No activites after school. * Not enough stimulating homework and work for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2008

Both of my sons attended this school for 07-08 and LOVED the teachers, principal and staff. My youngest son had a hard time 'fitting in' at his previous school, but everyone here at Orchards treated him with such warm, welcoming attitudes that for the first time he attended a school and felt like part of the group. Both of my kids have gained so much self confidence this year and they both improved leaps and bounds in reading and math. My older son took the WASL this year and his teacher worked very hard to make sure that his class was intellectually and emotionally prepaired for this challenge without making it intimidating. The entire staff was great! The only thing I would add to this school is more art programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

I think my childs kindergarten teacher is the sweetest. My daughter has really excelled in her class, by letting the child experience and learn in there own way and pace. The staff at the front are so wonderful and sweet and whenever you need to pick up your child or get through to the teacher they always go above and beyond. I like this and think it will improve and get better if there is more teacher communication and parent involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2007

Mrs.Ngyuen is a great pricipal and is very involved in all the school programs and knows almost all the children in her school on a first name basis. She strongly encourages parent involvment with success. The office staff is one of a kind and very willing to help out parents in any way possible. Some teachers do have communication issues with parents, but the parents also have to do there part in staying in contact with their childrens teachers. The fifth grade graduation was a great, and a lot of teacher participation helped make it that way. I would recommend sending your children there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

Great school, lots of programs, caring staff, quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2003

I think the leadership from the principal and the teaching staff at Orchards is great. They really put the child first in education and it shows!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

113 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
25%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students61%
Female66%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic61%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income55%
Not low income77%
Special education35%
Not special education68%
Limited English50%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female81%
Male57%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic71%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income68%
Not low income74%
Special education26%
Not special education81%
Limited English75%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female64%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic45%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income48%
Not low income70%
Special education0%
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female79%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic65%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income68%
Not low income85%
Special education25%
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female79%
Male37%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income52%
Not low income60%
Special education0%
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students45%
Female50%
Male41%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic31%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income43%
Not low income50%
Special education10%
Not special education53%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female65%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income51%
Not low income67%
Special education24%
Not special education62%
Limited English24%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students51%
Female58%
Male46%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic42%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income49%
Not low income58%
Special education24%
Not special education58%
Limited English0%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 63%
Hispanic 20% 18%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Black 4% 5%
Asian 2% 7%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 174%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 217%N/A8%
Special education 216%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 14N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 79%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 9:05 am
School end time
  • 3:35 pm
School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Brawley
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (360) 604-6977

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Individually guided instruction
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Science
  • Special education
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Orthopedic impairments
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Russian
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Covington Middle School
HERITAGE High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

11405 NE 69th St
Vancouver, WA 98662
Website: Click here
Phone: (360) 604-6975

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Language Academy
Vancouver, WA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT