Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sifton Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

My experience with the school is just great !! Love the teachers , principal all the staff makes you feel great ! It's just like an extension of your family ., always trying to help your kid to be successful ; two of my kids strutted there since kindergarten and the third one started on third grade , they help him to feel good ! I just have to say thank you Sifton staff !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2013

SIFTON ELEMENTARY My wife and I sent our son and daughter to Sifton upon the recommendation of close relatives who's children attended Sifton from Kindergarten on up to graduation. Both of our children have now attended Sifton since Kindergarten and the oldest is in 4th grade now. They love going to school at Sifton and we hear nothing but good from them about their teachers and classmates! Not a single complaint about bullying. My kids amaze us with how much they are learning and how excited they are about their what they are learning! I have volunteered at Sifton during various outings and also attended parent teacher student days and movie nights and had a chance to personally see teacher-student interaction. I am very impressed with the personal care the teachers give students. The students are calm, respectful and orderly and the teachers very much have a relaxed demeanor while maintaining their students clear attention. The kids obviously love and respect their teachers and enjoy being at school! I attended only private schools all the way through college and Sifton is certainly a breath of fresh air that reminds me of my good old days of the classroom! John Cothran
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2013

I love this school!!! This is my daughter's first year here & I am amazed by this school. They teachers are excellent, the staff is fabulous & they have tons of fun events put on by the PTA all year long to be involved in. I have seen a positively huge difference in my daughters grades & spirit since moving to this school :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2010

I love this school! The staff is great! I have four children there now and they all have great teachers! The teachers work very hard and it shows! I am thankful for such a great school for my kids to attend!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2009

The Evergreen School District has severely cut their staffing budget for the year 2009-2010. Even though they had the cuts, my students and I love this school. My son goes to the learning assist classroom for help and has greatly improved in many areas. He has had the same aide in the learning help class for 3 years now and that is uncommon and she is exceptional, like many staff at Sifton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2009

My son went here. He is now in 7 th grade. They were wonderful. He has a learning disability and the teachers were great, understanding and really made him achieve his goals. As a parent my questions were always answered and they were very easy to work with. Love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

Sifton just lets the children pass on through grade after grade. I removed my children from Sifton and put them in a different district only to find that they were 2 grades behind....yet in all Sifton's report cards and parent teacher conferences all was great. You really don't know how good/bad a school is until you have another to compare it to. I feel having my children at Sifton would put my children at a great disadvantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

We have a grown daughter that attended Sifton and felt it was a very good school. We had moved and recently returned with our younger children and have been very pleased with the attention and education our children are receiving at Sifton. The teachers and staff are very professional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2008

Sifton is a disfunctional school. Last year, they failed the NCLB testing, so the district had to offer transfers to other schools . . . the three schools offered did not test much better than Sifton. Between the poor test performance and the 30% ESL population, it seems that Sifton is focusing only on students who perform poorly. My student is a very strong student, but is being ignored. He is doing the same math that he did two years ago. Despite promises from the principal that Sifton 'differentiates', and teaches to all students at their own level, we are seeing absolutely no evidence of this. Another problem for this school is the level of parental involvement. In a school of 600 students, three families were represented in a recent PTO meeting. The PTO is canceling fund raising activities because they can not find 10-15 parents to volunteer in the evenings.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2007

I absolutely love Sifton Elementary. They really meet mine and my husbands expectations. Compared to [other schools], this is the place to be. Education is so much more advanced. We were finding that both our children were not being challenged to their ability. Since we've enrolled our son in Sifton Elementary, there has been a dramatic change in him for the better. The school district goes above and beyond to inform parents about other extra curricular activities. The teachers are very respectful and informative. I just love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2006

I would rate this school as just average in terms of the quality of teachers, facilities, and overall leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

The teachers are wonderful, very caring.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2005

The level of parent involvement is low. They have a hard time finding people to help also the teachers are not involved as much as they should.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2003

Great staff as far as keeping the parent updated and involved with child's learning.


Posted September 9, 2003

Well so far this will be my eldest's 3rd year at the school and she has done well. She has improved in many area's. The experience I have had with the teachers and principal has been good. I now have a new kindergardner going and so far good. The teacher has been great and she loves it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
59%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
49%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
18%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students58%
Female58%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic36%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Low income48%
Not low income73%
Special education70%
Not special education56%
Limited English11%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students76%
Female71%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Low income72%
Not low income83%
Special education80%
Not special education76%
Limited English67%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students37%
Female33%
Male40%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic21%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Low income35%
Not low income42%
Special education25%
Not special education42%
Limited English17%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female52%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic43%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Low income46%
Not low income67%
Special education35%
Not special education59%
Limited English39%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students45%
Female48%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic14%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Low income40%
Not low income54%
Special education30%
Not special education50%
Limited English26%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female53%
Male44%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic52%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White48%
Low income47%
Not low income51%
Special education31%
Not special education52%
Limited English25%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female62%
Male52%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Low income47%
Not low income73%
Special education38%
Not special education61%
Limited English19%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students45%
Female49%
Male42%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic33%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Low income40%
Not low income54%
Special education25%
Not special education49%
Limited English6%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 68% 60%
Hispanic 20% 20%
Two or more races 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 7%
Black 3% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 122%N/A8%
Special education 115%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 263%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 83%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Angela Mitchell

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7301 NE 137th Ave
Vancouver, WA 98682
Phone: (360) 604-6675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT