Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Silver Star Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 460 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 22, 2014

Silver Star is an amazing community of supportive staff! They are always open to supporting parents and students! The staff all want the very best for our students that attend Silver Star. State testing scores don't do this school justice. The tests are just a glimpse of one day of testing. It is what students are learning year round and how they can comprehend their learning that counts! That state test is just a small snapshot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

my school is people friendly ,they are very kind to my child .What I like about silver star is ,when I walk into the office the people there treat you like family.. The only thing they should change is the barbecue in the beginning of the year should be free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2013

I love this school and the staff is awesome! I've had NO problems at all with the school or the staff. I was on the PTA this last year and it was great! Glad my oldest is going into 1st grade next year and I have 2 more that will go through this school too!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

Today, it is relatively impossible to properly evaluate an institution's level of impact that it has onto its students from its progressive teaching efforts and the combine collective offered programs. I'm a member of the Class of 1991. My Success Story: My mom started me a year late for she did not think I was ready. A main factor here was that nobody at home spent even a sizable amount of time with me reviewing the pre-kindergarden requirements. I did not have all of my ABCs memorized. Starting from Kindergarden I was provided EXCELLENT instruction, PROPER encouragement, SUPPORTIVE guidance, and ABUNDANCE of literature to take home, which made the task of learning FUN for me and EASY for my parents - especially after working. The material however WAS challenging to ensure progress. In grades First through Fifth, I attended a program offered to those having difficulty reading. That program was called "Chapter One." This program not only got me up to speed but surpassed fellow classmates. I went from struggling to read with no guidance to being a Financial Analyst producing the financial annuals for the Boeing 777 line and manage a budge of $1091 Million, $281 Million ann.


Posted May 10, 2011

Silver Star has been a excellent school for my daughter. She is currently in the 2nd grade and reading at a 4th grade level. Her teachers have all been wonderful. Let's be honest - in this day and age sending your child to school isn't enough and parents need to be involved and challenge their kids at home as well. All in all, Silver Star is doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

My son started this year 2009- 2010 in Kindergarden with Mrs Magistrale and she is the best teacher a student could ever have. She is so patient with each and every child, she cares so much about everyone of them and with such a hectic schedule this year she has a smile on her face everyday. You can tell when a teacher really cares about her students and she truely does....I am so sad that Dylan will be leaving to advance to 1st grade, but will be able to see her everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

This school shows NO respect for my child in any way. I would never recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2008

I have two children at this school, a second grader and a fourth grader. I think this school has an excellent teaching staff and principal. They all know my family and the atmosphere is very friendly. There's a moderate amount of parent involvement, some very involved and others not. The kindergarten through third grade instruction is top notch. The staff did an excellent job, especially in reading instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2006

This is a stupendous school. Well organized and well supplied. My daughter went to Kindergarten here and left reading full books, spelling, doing well at addition and subtraction. The item that impressed me the most was the level they strive for. They pointed out the curriculum that the 'No child left behind' act spelled out, and then their goals. They have an ambitious program that has the children learning about 40% more than the national average.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2005

Son in first grade now, kindergarten there last year and teachers have been very nice and helpful. Seems overcrowded and has a large difference in income variations of families. From very upper class to very lower class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 21, 2003

My concerned is that, I don't think my children are getting the proper education. Just look at the WASL scores! My kids don't have text books. Things they bring home are homemade lessons. The quality is poor, let's raise the standards. I've never seen schools so unkept and unorganiized. (New to the NW, this was an eye opener).
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
33%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
22%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female58%
Male49%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income51%
Not low income55%
Special education31%
Not special education59%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students57%
Female61%
Male54%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White62%
Low income53%
Not low income62%
Special education25%
Not special education66%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students48%
Female46%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Low income39%
Not low income56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education49%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students66%
Female73%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic50%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income55%
Not low income77%
Special educationn/a
Not special education68%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students54%
Female61%
Male47%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic30%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income52%
Not low income56%
Special educationn/a
Not special education53%
Limited English20%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students53%
Female47%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White56%
Low income56%
Not low income48%
Special education17%
Not special education61%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female70%
Male56%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White66%
Low income63%
Not low income63%
Special education33%
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students74%
Female78%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income68%
Not low income81%
Special education58%
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 71% 60%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 7%
Black 2% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 112%N/A8%
Special education 119%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 260%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 12N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 69%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Janet Locascio

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10500 NE 86th St
Vancouver, WA 98662
Phone: (360) 604-6775

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT