Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Vancouver, WA
Students enrolled: 568
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 5 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sunset Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 29, 2009
- a parent
The principal, teachers and support staff at Sunset really care about the students.

Sunset Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
When i was a kid i too went to this school and man was i so cool to be a sunset shark,as i know have kids they to are sharks .This school has helped my son he is a kid that has add,and they work with him .Last year he went to another school and didnt seem to get the help hes getting know.Thank you sunset for helping my child...


Sunset Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted August 07, 2009
- a teacher
Sunset Elementary was recently awarded for positive behavior growth by the national program: Positive Behavior Interventions & Supports (P.B.I.S.). In addition, our school is recognized for our Student Achievement Wall and our collaborative work as a staff. Fifth grade students have the good fortune to benefit from Center for Civic Education grant that supports high school mentoring in the We the People program. Students at Sunset present a Mock Congressional Hearing for distinguished judges who donate their time to our school. In this manner, students leave Sunset with a deep understanding of our United States Government, and how to carry out the duties of citizenship. Sunset Elementary School teachers benefit from a professional community collaboratively working toward student achievement. Students receive their educations from highly qualified teachers, who work tirelessly to teach each child to the best of that child''s ability.

Sunset Elementary School 1

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sunset Elementary School 1

Posted May 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Sunset Elementary School 4

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sunset Elementary School 5

Posted November 29, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Sunset Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2005
- a parent
In my opinion, Sunset has some serious discipline problems. Thankfully, Sunset is experiencing many positive changes due to administrative changes (a new principal and staff changes). The level of parent involvement has been low in the past, may have to due with the fact that there are many working parents in the school. Sunset has at least a 48% reduced/free lunch rate.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sunset Elementary School
9001 NE 95th St, Vancouver, WA  98662
(360) 604-6900
Last modified Sunset Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sunset Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top