Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Harmony Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 763 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 4, 2014

I have two children with both attending Harmony. I have attended many PTA events over the years, got to know several parents, teachers and facaulty. Many parent teacher conferences in which each one of their teachers have been very good with the aspect of beleiving in "the childs education" is most important first and foremost". along with teaching dignity & respect. I have no complaints and am satisfied with my childrens education at Harmony.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2014

This is a great school with friendly staff and teachers. As with all schools their are a few teachers I wouldn't redommend, but they are few and far between. I have had four kids go to this school.mmtwo who have moved on and two still there. I have no desire to move because I over this school so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2013

This school is not the best... in regards to the teachers, I have come across some fantastic teachers, Mr. Schiewe and Mrs. Dana have been wonderful and great with my son. I have two boys enrolled in this school and one of my boys is very enthusiastic, this year he has been struggling with his second grade teacher, Mrs. Walhstrom, her character towards parents and students is off putting and condescending. I can not wait for him to be out of her hands and i will try my best to ensure any of my other children do not have her again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2011

I second a reviewer about Alex Schiewe! He has been a godsend in helping us with our bright, but difficult, son this year! the teachers, staff, and support staff know our family by name, and even with all the issues this year, have been supportive and loving to our son. His sister is attending another school, but will be joining her brother in the fall, and she too hopes to get Mr. Schiewe for a first grade teacher! Mrs. Brocley was also amazingly patient and wonderful with our son for kindergarten as well--we really support Harmony to the fullest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2011

Average school for the area. Good library. There are great teachers there and there are not so...Needs more principal participation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2010

This is an amazing School. They really help each child excel. If your child is lucky enough to get Alex Schiewe, your child will get the best educational experience ever! Mr. Schiewe gets each child feel like the are the most special person. He is an amazing teacher who goes above and beyond just being a teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

The staff, students, and parents are fantastic. The teachers love what they are doing, and their priority is educating those kids. The administration is very approachable and do what they can to help problem solve. The atmosphere at Harmony is very friendly, and the office staff really enforce it. It's a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2010

I love Harmony Elementary! My 21 year old daughter and 18 year old son attended this school and my 8 year is now a 3rd grader. Harmony has the feel of a small school. Teachers and staff are wonderful. I have nothing but good things to say. They truly care about each individual child. My older children have nothing but good memories of there time attending this school. They nurture each childs strength and are supportive when there are issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2009

Principals are average but dedicated, teachers are average with an exceptional few. The Arts suffers due to budget cuts, science suffers because of budget cuts. Building is older, rooms cluttered with wires running everywhere in classroom, piles of papers and supplies stacked ready to fall... Library is exceptional with Computer Lab. It rains in Northwest, has small covered area for kids and wet playground 6months of school yr. A Special Ed. depart with caring staff/teachers They have child care before and after avail.. The school has the best of intentions like any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

I simply could not be happier with the staff and teachers at Harmony. My daughter just finished first grade and loved everything about it. I loved that they immediately identified her as needing a little extra help in reading at the beginning of the year, put her in the LAP program, and she is now reading right where she should be for the end of First Grade. These people are on top of everything from school functions to safety, and I'm so happy my daughter has several more years with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2009

WOW! I sure expected a lot more.... The teacher my daughter was given is not only condescending but a drill instructor. I asked about changing and one of the staff who thought I was angry was trying to 'handle' me.... came off condescending as well. This school is horrible!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

Harmony has been our school for the past four years, and I have found that all of the staff, administration and teachers are approachable and willing to listen to any and all concerns. I have two boys who are, um, very imaginative and energetic, and I have had my opportunities to walk in to the Principal and the Vice Principal's offices, and I have found both to be receptive and fair. As for any comments about the staff...kindness toward those who do thankless jobs go a really long way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

This is the 3rd elementary school I've been to in WA and I'd say Harmony is best in terms of staff.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 3, 2007

I have a son that is enrolled at Harmony and the few of the PTA event's I have attended have been reasonably laid out and very helpful in the way of the child's development. He is in 2nd grade and now I can honestly say that the three teachers he has had, are very knowledgable and seem to have the child's best interest's at heart. No complaints!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2007

We haven't been overly impressed with this particular school to be honest. Our child had some issues last year with a teacher who was brand new and we really felt that he and his fellow students suffered as a result of her style. We received no help from other faculty and it seemed like the entire system was a bit jumbled and could never seem to get anything together. This year we're absolutely pleased with his teachers but it's still a little disconcerting that the office staff can't seem to pull it together. I'm amazed that an adult can just waltz into the school and not be questioned by a single staff member. I've even stood at the front desk for over 5 minutes before someone asked me what I needed when I came to pick my child up early. Too bad there's no way to fix all the issues...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

Very committed staff, but too classes are too large for students to have very much personalized attention. Plus --- Where are the arts in the curriculum>?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

Harmony has provided our daughter with a fantastic education. Our daughter has a difficulity with reading and Harmony has given her the special attention she needed to not only gain confidence, but to learn special skills to help her read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2004

I would just like to say that my child is at grade level or above (recent ITBS testing showed above average in all areas) due to the excellent teaching he received at this school. As a parent, I am very satisfied with the staff and school administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2004

Harmony Elementary is an excellent school! I have two children attending Harmony who have excelled at this wonderful school for the past four years. The teachers and staff are a caring professional group of people whose main concern is the education and safety of our children. When one of my children needed some additional support the teacher and administrator were right there making sure that she received the help she needed. Harmony has one of the largest student populations in the district and is very well run and organized. The atmosphere is always positive and happy when I am there. The school has an excellent volunteer group of parents and community members. I feel very lucky that my children have such a great school to go to every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

I gotta say, I'm not too impressed with this school. I have 3 kids enrolled, and the school strikes me as jumbled, disorganized, and floundering. Some of the teachers are absolutely first rate...but the tenor and tone of the school to me is just plain troubling. I would suggest that any parent meet with the teacher and principal -- and really look for character. (As I read in another review, the teacher of my child said she would 'really hate to lose' my child when I inquired about moving her from a particular classroom.) It wasn't a matter of ...what can we do to solve the problem, it was simply...'well, we hate to see her go.' Perspective parents, think twice! But if it's an inevitability, meet the teachers and principal in person before your child steps in the door.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
32%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students66%
Female74%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic55%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Low income45%
Not low income75%
Special education36%
Not special education69%
Limited English40%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female83%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian91%
Asian/Pacific Islander91%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Low income57%
Not low income85%
Special education55%
Not special education79%
Limited English48%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female73%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic58%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Low income53%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female89%
Male75%
Blackn/a
Asian82%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanic83%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Low income72%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education84%
Limited English42%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students71%
Female80%
Male62%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander73%
Hispanic73%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Low income62%
Not low income76%
Special educationn/a
Not special education75%
Limited English33%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female72%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian87%
Asian/Pacific Islander82%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income69%
Not low income82%
Special education54%
Not special education81%
Limited English62%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female79%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White76%
Low income59%
Not low income80%
Special education39%
Not special education79%
Limited English23%
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students78%
Female79%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asian73%
Asian/Pacific Islander71%
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Low income63%
Not low income83%
Special education46%
Not special education81%
Limited English39%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 63%
Hispanic 12% 18%
Asian 10% 7%
Two or more races 5% 5%
Black 2% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 132%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 213%N/A8%
Special education 210%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 17N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 11N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 80%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17404a NE 18th St
Vancouver, WA 98684
Phone: (360) 604-6600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT