Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Harbor School

Private | 4-8 | 14 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Vashon

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $325,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,060.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2010

Interesting comment by previous reviewer... The math and science programs at THS have succeeded with our student and challenged her to forge a deeper conceptual and computational understanding of the disciplines. Both of those teachers have worked closely with us to target her particular strengths and weakenesses. Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

The Harbor School is a great place. Not just in terms of educational quality, but also the bigger picture of what kids learn about life through a close connection over a number of years with teachers who really connect with them. Every school has challenges - and occassionally vocal parents who want something different. As for math, 65% of last years graduating class tested into honors geometry at Vashon High School. And the English program is exceptional. We've had one child graduate and one still at THS and feel very lucky to have this opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

This school is having an identity crisis due to a lack of leadership at the Headmaster level. Additionally, the math and science programs are sub-standard and have left students behind or completely disinterested. There are some wonderful teachers who are totally committed to the students but they stand alone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

awesome I learned almost every thing better than previous schools.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

Both of our children our currently at The Harbor School. Excellent teachers, small classes, innovative real world learning. A fabulous place for kids to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2007

The best school (of any kind) I have ever experienced. This school literally transforms even the most introverted, discouraged children into confident, supportive, cooperative learners. A truly extraordinary community of devoted teachers, staff, and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2005

Both of my children graduated from THS and I am delighted with the education and support they received there. I now understand that the middle school years are the best time to invest in a child's education. It is when kids solidify their relationships with school, peers, sports, their families and themselves. The small class sizes and dedicated, enthusiastic staff at THS turned my son's attitude about school from negative to positive and boosted my daughter's love of learning. The social circle seems small there, but my kids came to know and love their classmates, and learned a lot more in the process, than if they had been in a larger school where they could hang out only with kids that were similar to themselves. THS really broadened their understanding and appreciation of others. It's OK to be who you are at THS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2005

My son just completed 4th grade at the Harbor and had an excellent year. He started a couple of months after the school year began, but the faculty gave him all the support he needed to catch up. He was challenged and ENJOYED the academics and benefited enormously from the emphasis on social skills development. The extensive field trips gave him lots of new interests and areas of confidence. Parents are very involved with this school. I only wish I had more time to give to the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2005

The Harbor School is a wonderful place for students. It has a great community and teachers that enjoy what they teach. Students become excited about learning, and enthused about school. Not only are the classes fun, but the travel study program is amazing. In my 8th grade year our entire class took a two week trip to New Orleans. Every student particapates in class and the parents, teacher , and students are always intouch about the students progression.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 60%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 7%
Hispanic 2% 20%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 2%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 6%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 1912
Vashon, WA 98070
Phone: (206) 567-5955

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Family Link
Vashon, WA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT