Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

4-8|Private
46 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Harbor School 2

Posted November 12, 2015
- a parent
It was just not worth the money. Tuition plus donations plus trips does not give value.

The Harbor School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
Interesting comment by previous reviewer... The math and science programs at THS have succeeded with our student and challenged her to forge a deeper conceptual and computational understanding of the disciplines. Both of those teachers have worked closely with us to target her particular strengths and weakenesses. Love this school!


The Harbor School 5

Posted March 10, 2010
- a parent
The Harbor School is a great place. Not just in terms of educational quality, but also the bigger picture of what kids learn about life through a close connection over a number of years with teachers who really connect with them. Every school has challenges - and occassionally vocal parents who want something different. As for math, 65% of last years graduating class tested into honors geometry at Vashon High School. And the English program is exceptional. We've had one child graduate and one still at THS and feel very lucky to have this opportunity.

The Harbor School
no rating

Posted February 19, 2010
- a parent
This school is having an identity crisis due to a lack of leadership at the Headmaster level. Additionally, the math and science programs are sub-standard and have left students behind or completely disinterested. There are some wonderful teachers who are totally committed to the students but they stand alone.

The Harbor School 5

Posted June 01, 2009
- a student
awesome I learned almost every thing better than previous schools.


The Harbor School 5

Posted December 17, 2008
- a parent
Both of our children our currently at The Harbor School. Excellent teachers, small classes, innovative real world learning. A fabulous place for kids to learn.

The Harbor School 5

Posted March 19, 2007
- a parent
The best school (of any kind) I have ever experienced. This school literally transforms even the most introverted, discouraged children into confident, supportive, cooperative learners. A truly extraordinary community of devoted teachers, staff, and families.

The Harbor School 5

Posted September 01, 2005
- a parent
Both of my children graduated from THS and I am delighted with the education and support they received there. I now understand that the middle school years are the best time to invest in a child's education. It is when kids solidify their relationships with school, peers, sports, their families and themselves. The small class sizes and dedicated, enthusiastic staff at THS turned my son's attitude about school from negative to positive and boosted my daughter's love of learning. The social circle seems small there, but my kids came to know and love their classmates, and learned a lot more in the process, than if they had been in a larger school where they could hang out only with kids that were similar to themselves. THS really broadened their understanding and appreciation of others. It's OK to be who you are at THS.


The Harbor School 5

Posted July 10, 2005
- a parent
My son just completed 4th grade at the Harbor and had an excellent year. He started a couple of months after the school year began, but the faculty gave him all the support he needed to catch up. He was challenged and ENJOYED the academics and benefited enormously from the emphasis on social skills development. The extensive field trips gave him lots of new interests and areas of confidence. Parents are very involved with this school. I only wish I had more time to give to the place.

The Harbor School 5

Posted April 16, 2005
- a student
The Harbor School is a wonderful place for students. It has a great community and teachers that enjoy what they teach. Students become excited about learning, and enthused about school. Not only are the classes fun, but the travel study program is amazing. In my 8th grade year our entire class took a two week trip to New Orleans. Every student particapates in class and the parents, teacher , and students are always intouch about the students progression.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Harbor School
Po Box 1912, Vashon, WA  98070
(206) 567-5955
Last modified The Harbor School is a Private school that serves grades 4-8
The Harbor School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top