Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lewis And Clark Elementary School 5

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
I am thrilled with the dual language program at Lewis and Clark. As a frequent volunteer I have had the privilege to see some amazing teachers as work. I wonder at the complaints, have these parents spent any time in the classroom? A child who has underling learning disabilities may find the dual language program holds him back.

Lewis And Clark Elementary School 2

Posted September 09, 2013
- a parent
My child struggled in this school with the dual learning program holding him back. The children are partnered up with another child who speaks the opposite language and they help teach each other. If the other child is slower to learn the pair fails. The staff was mean to their English speaking students. Would not recommend this school if you are looking for a quality education that is not divided by ethnicity.


Lewis And Clark Elementary School 5

Posted January 05, 2011
- a parent
Lewis & Clark is an impressive educational opportunity for my children. I wish all students in the U.S. could learn this way. (We are one of the only developed nations to teach in only one language.) I am evaluating as a parent who volunteers regularly in the school. Parental involvement is high. The principal is highly involved, passionate about the school, and motivating. The students are excited to learn and happy to be there. Classes are developmentally appropriate. Homework is assigned with a purpose and not excessive. The school participates in both the consequential-based discipline program set by the district and a positive reward for desired behavior program. Teachers work hard, developing active learning situations and regularly evaluating each student. I especially like the community of students -- low income to high income, variety of races, backgrounds, and abilities. Kids learn about other cultures in addition to 2 languages. Other schools may look statistically better, but as a whole these kids are getting a better education than most kids in or nation. Academics are strong.

Lewis And Clark Elementary School 1

Posted March 11, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Lewis And Clark Elementary School 5

Posted February 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Lewis And Clark Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2010
- a parent
My child has been in the Dual Language program for 5 years. The format is incredible ~ students learn reading/writing in their native tongue for 2 years before beginning to learn those subjects in their second language. Math is taught in English, while science and social studies are taught in Spanish (the terms are often similar). English-only is available for those who want that for their child. Parent involvement is high and there is a wide variety of activities for the students to get involved in ~ from jump rope club to puppet club to art club to library club to math club to passport club to mariachi to drama. EVERY child can find a place. L&C is one of the FEW locally that does NOT have an action plan because of poor WASL performance. Their scores are consistently high. My problem has been finding an equally high-scoring middle school.

Lewis And Clark Elementary School 2

Posted September 02, 2009
- a parent
Some staff are overly opionated and judgmental. School's classes are half taught in English and Spanish for nearly every student.

Lewis And Clark Elementary School 5

Posted June 24, 2007
- a parent
The dual language program is very structured and based on best practices in education. The principal and teachers are highly capable in their specific teaching areas. Parental involvement is highly important to the principal and teachers and a major focus of the school! Parent classes and newsletters are very helpful for parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lewis And Clark Elementary School
1130 Princeton, Wenatchee, WA  98801
(509) 663-5951
Last modified Lewis And Clark Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lewis And Clark Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top