Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-9
Public
Woodinville, WA
Students enrolled: 644

4 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Leota Junior High School 5

Posted October 10, 2014
- a parent
My son was at Leota for 3 years and my daughter just started at Leota this fall. They both love Leota and so do I. The teachers are engaging, caring and offer challenging coursework. Leota teachers do a great job of preparing students for HS, both academically and in terms of individual organizational skills and time management. Teachers have rigorous standards, especially for "Challenge" classes, but offer many opportunities to help students succeed. In addition, there is STAR time after school to help students who are struggling or who need library resources to work on projects. There are plenty of after-school programs (with buses), like sports teams, robotics club, disc golf club, yearbook and school socials - to name a few. The school fosters a sense of inclusion and belonging, from the office staff to the teachers to the counselors to the Principal and VP. The PTSA has many dedicated parent volunteers to help with chaperoning socials, providing Staff Appreciation lunches, and adding logistical support to Leota fundraisers and other school functions. Leota is an excellent school, any way you rate it - academically, socially, after school programs and sports.

Leota Junior High School 1

Posted August 26, 2013
- a parent
Horrible school and horrible staff. Moved school district to avoid. I can't not believe what goes on there.


Leota Junior High School 1

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
This is an absolutely horrible school! Some of the teachers care about what they're doing, but in two years, we've come across more than a handful of teachers that just don't care - at all. They're clock punchers - gone for the day once that bell rings. There's no compassion for students. Bullying is rampant and systemic (not just by students, but by staff as well). Numerous staff have made disparaging remarks to students on more than one occasion. This leads to a caustic environment and dissuades students from learning.

Leota Junior High School 1

Posted October 25, 2012
- a parent
Not impressed. The administration is awful about trying to resolve problems, and the principal doesn't care about the students.

Leota Junior High School 5

Posted September 26, 2012
- a community member
THIS IS AN AMAZING SCHOOL!!! I absolutely love it here. The teachers are amazing and assign the perfect amount of work that is challenging but understandable. Teachers help us fully understand concepts and the idea and always help when needed. The kids here are AMAZING all grades hang with each other and are super nice. The whole school is involved and don't even let me get started on the magazine drive assembly. I just had one today... SPECTACULAR!!!!!!!!!! I LOVE LEOTA!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Leota Junior High School 4

Posted March 12, 2009
- a student
This School Is GREAT! There is some bullying but what i like about this school is that it's really not a 7th, 8th, 9th grade school. It would say it's a one grade school because all the grade hangs out with each other.

Leota Junior High School 4

Posted March 04, 2009
- a parent
I think this school is pretty good considering most school districts here don't offer after school program. To the parents that are posting 'bad school' perhaps you can go into more detail? I think any school you go to, you or your child are going to find some fault with, because no school in the world is perfect. It is true that while the staff can pay more attention to student's after school activities, and the lunch menu can be drastically improved, I think that overall a majority of teacher's here genuinely care for the students academically and emotional well being. As for 'mean kids', if your child is having problems with student's I suggest instead of complaining you should take the issues to the principal, nothing ever goes solved by just writing bad reviews.

Leota Junior High School 1

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
bad school , bad teachers and the and the freshman project is a waste of time


Leota Junior High School 3

Posted February 13, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Leota Junior High School 5

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Leota Junior High School
19301 168 Av NE, Woodinville, WA  98072
(425) 408-6500
Last modified Leota Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades 7-9. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Leota Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top