Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Valley High School 1

Posted November 23, 2014
- a parent
EVHS lacks in academics and as students attend colleges, the students find the weaknesses. There is a College Level Writing class (yea! Great class!), yet that same top level writing/reading expectations are held for students in other the other writing classes. The History and Science departments, while strong on content do not develop the life long skills of research, inferencing, or writing in their subject matter. The Current world issues class does not study current issues and does not teach higher level thinking or writing skills. If EVHS is satisfied with the majority of students attending a 2 year school, then the school is hitting the mark. If the expectations is for students to be attend and be successful in the 4 year school--EVHS is lacking. My youngest will attend another HS with the academic strength to help propel he to the next level--a quality 4 year college.

East Valley High School 4

Posted June 22, 2014
- a community member
Sam Johnson is and will always be someone I respect. Sorry EVHS didn't work out for you! I always wished I could have you in my classes, but coaching you in tennis was a pure joy! Keep working hard and congrats on your successes!


East Valley High School 2

Posted August 24, 2013
- a community member
I'm a former student who graduated in 2011. I couldn't wait to get out of this school. I attended running start full time from junior year through senior year due to the fact that I wasn't challenged at EVHS. There are a few teachers who will challenge you and help you grow/learn ( Mrs. Williams is the best and is the main reason for 2 stars) if you want to. Overall this school is more focused on sports rather than academics. Faculty will praise students who are good at sports and pass them through classes so they can continue playing. Komstadius for example. I would never subject my future children to this sort of institution. The community is very strong though and especially beneficial if your parents were in the correct "circle" of adults. Some sports are very political and again have a lot to do with who your parents are. Some sports are not. I just graduated from the University of Washington and I can say that East Valley High School did very very little to prepare me for UW or help me get there. Sam Johnson

East Valley High School 1

Posted July 24, 2013
- a parent
this school is horrible! If your student isn't Favorited by there teachers and struggles they will fall through the cracks. My son started with East valley and transferred to West valley, a school whose way more academically ahead unlike East valley. Also way more opportunities for the students. East valley let my son fall through the cracks academically and failed to help him when he was having problems with other students! The new principle has only made things worse. The vice principle who is in charge of discipline failed to do anything to help him. If your looking to enroll your child in this school. Think twice and go to West valley

East Valley High School 4

Posted June 01, 2011
- a parent
This school is just blooming into its great potential. It is has more and more activities and classes available each year. However, the best thing about East Valley HS is that it has wonderful unity and social opportunities. If a student and their parent's are willing to work hard academically, this school will be the perfect match!


East Valley High School 2

Posted January 11, 2010
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

East Valley High School 3

Posted July 06, 2009
- a student
The school of East Valley is an okay school only it is old and only some of the teachers are good at teaching like Mr.Hummel .

East Valley High School 4

Posted May 31, 2009
- a parent
The school seems to have good programs and good teachers. Mr. Hummel (princ.) was very nice and helpful when enrolling my daughter.


East Valley High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
Great school principle with a wealth of leadership. Great coaches and staff.

East Valley High School 5

Posted March 21, 2008
- a student
I love this school, and i wish i didnt have to go to college, the teachers are great, the classes are even better, learning expiriences are excellent and if i could describe the school in only a few words i would have to say, excellence can be acheived by hard working students and teachers working, not for the paycheck.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Valley High School
1900 Beaudry Rd, Yakima, WA  98901
(509) 573-7420
Last modified East Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Valley High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top