Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cottonwood Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 425 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

This is our first year here and we are very happy about this. We are looking forward to a good year .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2013

We have had a wonderful experience with this school! Teachers seem to truly care about each student. They seem to try to individualize each student's lessons and push the children to work up to their potential. Reading, writing and math programs are great. There are lots of incentives to be a responsible student, to try one's best, and to be healthy with the PAWS program and mileage club. Unfortunately there is no art class. The principal is very friendly and gets to know each student. As far as the district goes- It is important to note that all special education students attend this elementary school which might have an effect on the 6/10 rating, as well as the fact that the advanced students are placed at Wide Hollow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

Cottonwood has been wonderful for my son and myself. He has special learning issues and they have been very supportive and accommodating. We transferred to Cottonwood at the beginning of my son's 3rd grade year and we have been made to feel very welcome and a part of the school. The staff are wonderful and there for the children. There is a community feeling regarding the staff, children and parents here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

my child went here for only one year and it was horrible!!! the teacher he had was absolutely against anybody that was lower middle class and below. she made fun of my son and made first grade a nightmare. the staff said they would fix the problem yet never did. i pulled my son outta school two weeks early and placed him at apple valley which he loves. i would never recommend cottonwood to anybody unless you are upper class and have money!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

This school is terrible I have been treated unfairly and my children to I would not recommend this school to any one if your child is not a top reader or struggles in any other subject if so good luck .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2006

I have had a very positive opinion about W.V. schools. I do have concerns about my daughter this year. She is in 4th grade and will be taking the wasl's this year. Her homwork load is very light and the work she is bring home is work she did in 3rd grade. I don't see where she is being prepared for the test. I am greatly concerned in regards to this. Thank you for asking for the parents opinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2004

Wonderful school! I can't say enough about it! We have three children that have or do attend the school and every teacher has been wonderful, dedicated, and all around wonderful. There is a ton of parent involvement and a nice community of caring families. The children are expected to respect others which I appreciate. It's a safe environment as well. I have been surprised on more than one occasion when the teachers had a very detailed knowledge of my child(ren) through teaching them, proving to me how much individual attention each student is given and that the teachers care about them all. Parents are kept well informed of what is going on in the classroom as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

My kids have gone to cottonwood for the last 3 years and we love it! We think the school is wonderful and that the staff is especially wonderful to deal with!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students69%
Female70%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic63%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income61%
Not low income74%
Special education31%
Not special education78%
Limited English27%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic69%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Low income68%
Not low income90%
Special education44%
Not special education91%
Limited English55%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female77%
Male70%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income66%
Not low income78%
Special education40%
Not special education78%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male79%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic68%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Low income75%
Not low income89%
Special education60%
Not special education87%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students74%
Female89%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanic59%
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Low income63%
Not low income80%
Special education30%
Not special education79%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 63%
Hispanic 24% 18%
Asian 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 5%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 130%N/A40%
Transitional bilingual 23%N/A8%
Special education 222%N/A13%
Source: 1 NCES, 2010-2011
Source: 2 WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 18N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 14N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 63%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sherry Adams

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1041 South 96th Ave
Yakima, WA 98908
Phone: (509) 965-2052

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT