Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 8 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cottonwood Elementary School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a parent
This is our first year here and we are very happy about this. We are looking forward to a good year .

Cottonwood Elementary School 5

Posted January 17, 2013
- a parent
We have had a wonderful experience with this school! Teachers seem to truly care about each student. They seem to try to individualize each student's lessons and push the children to work up to their potential. Reading, writing and math programs are great. There are lots of incentives to be a responsible student, to try one's best, and to be healthy with the PAWS program and mileage club. Unfortunately there is no art class. The principal is very friendly and gets to know each student. As far as the district goes- It is important to note that all special education students attend this elementary school which might have an effect on the 6/10 rating, as well as the fact that the advanced students are placed at Wide Hollow.


Cottonwood Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2012
- a parent
Cottonwood has been wonderful for my son and myself. He has special learning issues and they have been very supportive and accommodating. We transferred to Cottonwood at the beginning of my son's 3rd grade year and we have been made to feel very welcome and a part of the school. The staff are wonderful and there for the children. There is a community feeling regarding the staff, children and parents here.

Cottonwood Elementary School 1

Posted December 05, 2011
- a parent
my child went here for only one year and it was horrible!!! the teacher he had was absolutely against anybody that was lower middle class and below. she made fun of my son and made first grade a nightmare. the staff said they would fix the problem yet never did. i pulled my son outta school two weeks early and placed him at apple valley which he loves. i would never recommend cottonwood to anybody unless you are upper class and have money!

Cottonwood Elementary School 1

Posted July 18, 2011
- a parent
This school is terrible I have been treated unfairly and my children to I would not recommend this school to any one if your child is not a top reader or struggles in any other subject if so good luck .


Cottonwood Elementary School 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
I have had a very positive opinion about W.V. schools. I do have concerns about my daughter this year. She is in 4th grade and will be taking the wasl's this year. Her homwork load is very light and the work she is bring home is work she did in 3rd grade. I don't see where she is being prepared for the test. I am greatly concerned in regards to this. Thank you for asking for the parents opinions.

Cottonwood Elementary School 5

Posted June 30, 2004
- a parent
Wonderful school! I can't say enough about it! We have three children that have or do attend the school and every teacher has been wonderful, dedicated, and all around wonderful. There is a ton of parent involvement and a nice community of caring families. The children are expected to respect others which I appreciate. It's a safe environment as well. I have been surprised on more than one occasion when the teachers had a very detailed knowledge of my child(ren) through teaching them, proving to me how much individual attention each student is given and that the teachers care about them all. Parents are kept well informed of what is going on in the classroom as well.

Cottonwood Elementary School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My kids have gone to cottonwood for the last 3 years and we love it! We think the school is wonderful and that the staff is especially wonderful to deal with!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cottonwood Elementary School
1041 South 96th Ave, Yakima, WA  98908
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. (509) 965-2052
Last modified Cottonwood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top