Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


West Valley High School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
My two daughters had an excellent educational experience at West Valley. In recent years West Valley has ramped up their AP and honors classes and both of my daughters acquired enough college credits that by their 2nds quarter at the UW, they already had sophomore status. I noticed that WV received poor reviews from '05 and '06, specifically criticizing the math and AP programs and I want to emphasize that there have been many changes since then.

West Valley High School 5

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
This is a fantastic school with lots of opportunities. My child has taken the highest courses possible and was very pleased as he finished his education with over a 4.0 gpa. In addition to the academic program, the band and athletic departments are THRIVING. Great well-rounded school with great student involvement.


West Valley High School 4

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter is a junior at West Valley High School. We have been very impressed with the quality of the upper level courses they have available. All of these classes might not be officially called "AP" - but rather many of them are termed "CHS" for "College in High School". Students in these classes are eligible for college credit. We have had good interactions with the counselors and teachers at the school.

West Valley High School 2

Posted April 28, 2011
- a student
I'm currently a sophomore going to this school and it's fair to say the experience so far has been very poor. The connection between students and teachers is lacking and unpersonal. I can honestly say I don't look forward to coming to school. Not only are the teachers careless when it comes to the students, but the ASB is also very unactive. The ASB offers very few involving activities and the activities they do plan offten don't fall through. Not impressed and I can't wait to move out of state next to get a better oppurtinity for learning.

West Valley High School 2

Posted January 21, 2010
- a parent
very poor communication from school to parents, almost non existant. very poor help for special needs students.


West Valley High School 4

Posted January 24, 2006
- a parent
I've had two children attend and graduate from the West Valley School System starting in Kindergarten and both graduating. Both attended college and graduated. They were active in sports and academics.I found the past and current administration and teachers to be envolved, accessable, and responsive to concerns and suggestions. My wife and I graduated from public and private schools in Yakima and would rate West Valley equal to those schools. We have found that the degree of parental participation in school and interaction with teachers and administrators will certainly enhance your child's sucess.

West Valley High School 2

Posted September 12, 2005
- a parent
Very few AP courses. Very poor math program. Great athletic program. Low tech.

West Valley High School 1

Posted October 20, 2004
- a student
This school has great athletic and band programs - but that's about it. If you're interested in strong academics, don't go here because they don't provide them - especially the math program. While there are many great kids who go there, the overall attitude of the students is stuck-up and clichish - which is something they basically encourage in elemntary school. However, there is great parent involvement - just look at their band! There's almost as many parents as band members helping out! So that's a definite good point. However, academics are important to me, and this school just didn't cut it.


West Valley High School 3

Posted August 26, 2003
- a student
This is a nice school, but the problems lie with some of the teachers having class favorites and rating others with their best student in class. I would say that this school overall rates as average. It's no better or worse than any other school in this area.

West Valley High School 5

Posted August 09, 2003
- a student
I think this school is great. The teachers and the students are very friendly. everybody works together to help you succeed

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

West Valley High School
9206 Zier Rd, Yakima, WA  98908
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. (509) 972-5906
Last modified West Valley High School is a Public school that serves grades 10-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top