Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Discovery Lab School 2

Posted January 15, 2013
- a parent
The principal changed within the last 2 years. He appears to be experienced however the school seems to still be transitioning. Teachers motivation appears to be down. Teachers do not return phone calls when there are concerns. There is not support either before or after school if students are struggling in a certain area. We have visited other schools in and outside the district and it appears the teaching methods in this school are not matching state standards. We had one student and two years later his sibling followed...the teacher was teaching the exact same thing...as evidenced through the same worksheets. If your child can work very independently and is very smart this school is for them. If your child needs assistance with something or you hope to work with teachers collaboratively; then this school is not for you.

Discovery Lab School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
Discovery Lab is awesome because of the wonderful group of caring adults and the community of students. My son has loved all of his teachers and most importantly he feels good about going to school everyday, even when he's struggling with reading or behavior. A truly caring, interested and driven community that fosters the talents and strengths of the students.


Discovery Lab School 0
no rating

Posted August 18, 2009
- a parent
My daughter attended Discovery Lab for first and second grade. It is a small school and has a definite sense of community. The school does a lot to involve parents in on school activities. I was worried about her attending school with such older kids, but there hasn't been too many problems as there is only one classroom per grade, so easy to keep an eye on all kids. The first grade teacher is excellent, but the second grade teacher is young and lets the kids get out of control quite a bit. I'm hoping for better for third grade. It is definately preferable to a larger school like Roosevelt, for us.

Discovery Lab School 5

Posted July 23, 2008
- a student
I went to Discovery Lab for about 6 years . Over those six years i have learned many thing and improved . though we got new teachers often it is still a very loveing enviroment. the teacher work great with the students since the buildings a very small but comferting.I recomend Discovery Lab to anybody who likes a little change and would love to be around not only older kids but also younger kids too. i loved this school and will miss it very much!! ~sincerely Adriana (graduate of Discovery Lab)~

Discovery Lab School 4

Posted March 25, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Discovery Lab School 4

Posted December 03, 2007
- a parent
We've been at Discovery Lab for seven years now, and it is a wonderful choice for us. We have a fabulous new principal (fall 2007) who has made a huge difference in terms of supporting our excellent teachers, providing a safe and welcoming environment for our kids, and who has successfully advocated for increased resources. This year we are experimenting with more electives for the 6-8th years: we have Sign Language, Spanish, Home Ec, Bridge Building, Art, PE, Band, Orchestra, Technology.This year Dsicovery received a School of Distinction Award (one of 83 schools in the state) for consistent improvements in assessments over the past five years; we reached this distinction as both an elementary and as a middle school; which apparently is very unusual. Always a work in progress, Discovery Lab has much to offer!

Discovery Lab School 3

Posted September 20, 2006
- a former student
My info. about the school is from about four years ago. On the positive side, it's a small school so students always get the teacher's attention and that creates a nice sence of community. On the other hand, when the school first opened there seemed to be a lack of direction and planning when it came to academics. In many senses, the students weren't following the same curriculum as their counterparts at larger public schools in the district. Thus, it might be difficult for some students to make the transition to high school classes. However, the creativity of what they do teach is so engaging that when the students do learn, it's actually enjoyable. It's an extremely safe environment, but I'm a little concerned about the leniency of the grading system, as well as the lack of extracurricular activities.

Discovery Lab School 2

Posted September 18, 2006
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Discovery Lab School 2

Posted June 03, 2006
- a parent
The school counselor is sloppy in her research on students and, by many parents, lacks judgment. She has reported CPS incidents with erroneous facts that only the Superintendent eventually repaired. The school principal is more interested in covering their reputations than providing honest queries herself. Not recommended!

Discovery Lab School 4

Posted April 09, 2006
- a parent
Small classes, small school, friendly environment, not the best for children with behavioral issues

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Discovery Lab School
2810 Castlevale Rd, Yakima, WA  98902
(509) 573-5401
Last modified Discovery Lab School is a Public school that serves grades 1-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Discovery Lab School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top