Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lackamas Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 314 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 19, 2014

This school has THE WORST PRINCIPAL I have ever encountered. If your child is bullied, they take your child out of activities to avoid the bullies...not the other way around and once the Principal has made his arbitrary decision that your child is trouble, that reputation will follow him and preceed him in every year after that, never a clean slate...soo glad I got my kids out of there, wish it had been sooner . The one absolute saving grace in this school is some of the teachers but without Mrs. Gubser , this school would go under
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2014

My children have attended this school for 5 years. I have never had a reason to complain. The staff is amazing. The school has a sense of family to it. They all work together to make sure your child succeeds. The counselor Mrs Gubsor has a goodbye club program for children with deployed parents. It has helped my kids get through deployments by giving them time to discuss with others going through the same thing. Teachers are very easy to talk to and always have time for parents. Lackamas has a great staff making sure to work as a team to ensure success and fun for your children. I would highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2014

This school is great! The teacher's are very one on one with the parents about our child's strengths and weaknesses. They have had a Zero-Tolerance Policy against bullying, and enforced it, before it had become a national campaign/issue. The Principal seems very kind, and seems to like his job. The only issue I have, is that they send home way too much homework for the Kindergartners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2013

This is an AWARD WINNING school, 4 years in a row for academic performance and improvement on state tests. All of my children have attended this school and we love it. The staff are dedicated. The principal is understanding. We have had nothing but great experiences here. I would personally like to call out the fabulous work that Mrs. Gubser the school counselor does. She has been amazing to listen to my children and help them work though difficult times. I wouldn't want my kids to go to school anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2012

I love this school! My kids are very happy and look forward to school, their teaches, principal, title teacher have gone above and beyond to help my children be successful. I feel welcome anytime in campus and the teachers keep me up to date on my kids' progress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Worst School I know of! If you have a child that has special needs, please concider something like k-12 or another school. I have talked to other parents that feel the same way me and my family do... They do not believe in the NCLB. They will harass you and do what they want no mater what you say. Confidentiality breaches will be made. And this is just the tip of the ice burg. 2 very good Teachers at this school that i would like to recomend - Ms McCracken and Ms Brook Braden. All I can say is Good luck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2012

My children have been to a few different schools due to our military moves. I am happy to say this has been the best so far. The community, parent, and teacher involvement has been outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2012

This school is wonderful. The teachers, principal & staff are truely amazing & very dedicated. They are very caring & make you feel like part of a family. Very committed!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2011

Absolutely the best school my kids have ever gone to. My kids have been in Virginia, California and northern WA. My oldest son struggles to pay full attention sometimes and teachers in CA were quick to want him tested for ADD, but here the teachers work their hardest all together to ensure the children are taken care of and meeting standards. Teachers are excellent and communicate with parents. They are always going above and beyond what they need to for the children. I wouldnt want my kids in any other elementary school than here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2011

My kids have been in school in Yakima and in Yelm, and I can't agree with anything but, that this school is just fantastic. One of my kids struggles and is really hard to deal with but the teachers get together and just don't give up. All kids of Awesome things that you could say about this school, none of the descriptors would be able to properly describe the school and will fall shot. To be blunt this is probably one of the best elementary school in Washington state, and I can only hope for such great success on the Staff at the schools to come. GO LACKAMAS ELEMENTARY
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

This was the very first school my oldest daughter has gone to. She was there for both Kindergarten and First grade. I couldn't have asked for a better first impression of school.It is also one of the only schools around that has a special program for Military children who have a parent deployed. It is called Good Bye Club and it is a support group for children to meet with other kids in the school that are their age once a week along with the school counslor to do special projects for their deployed parent. This program has helped my daughter get through yet another deployment knowing that most of her friends are going through the same thing.The staff makes every effort to make every child feel special everyday.I can only hope to find a school just as wonderful when we move.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2009

I think it's a wonderful school:) I have nothing bad to say about it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

40 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

39 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

44 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

43 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 63% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
14%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students78%
Female78%
Male76%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income65%
Not low income87%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students78%
Female83%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White72%
Low income59%
Not low income91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education86%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students68%
Female59%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Low income71%
Not low income65%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female86%
Male64%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income79%
Not low income70%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female64%
Male50%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income58%
Not low income55%
Special educationn/a
Not special education56%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students54%
Female60%
Male48%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Low income50%
Not low income58%
Special educationn/a
Not special education63%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students62%
Female64%
Male59%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Low income54%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education70%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students69%
Female72%
Male67%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Low income69%
Not low income69%
Special educationn/a
Not special education77%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Math

All Students74%
Female74%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White75%
Low income74%
Not low income73%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female79%
Male93%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Asian/Pacific Islandern/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Low income87%
Not low income88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education93%
Limited Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % basic, level 3, or level 4

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Washington used the Measurements of Student Progress (MSP) to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8, in writing in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The MSP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Washington. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Washington Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 60%
Hispanic 13% 20%
Two or more races 10% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 7%
Black 0% 5%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Transitional bilingual 10%N/A8%
Special education 114%N/A13%
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 243%N/A44%
Source: 1 WA OSPI, 2009-2010
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student-teacher ratio

  This school District averageState average
Students per classroom teacher 15N/A17
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Average years educational experience 8N/A12
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Teacher education levels

  This school District averageState average
Master's degree or higher 52%N/A66%
Source: WA OSPI, 2009-2010

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kurt Fourre

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16240 Bald Hill Rd
Yelm, WA 98597
Phone: (360) 894-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT