Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Public
Barboursville, WV
Students enrolled: 691

4 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 2

Posted September 07, 2012
- a parent
I come from the northern part of the states and have found this school system to be so under our expectations that it is boring to my kids.The elementary school is run by a principal that I have found to lose his selfcontrol when confronted and I pray that he does not show this same attitude towards our children.I have talked wirth many parents in whom I do not even know their names nor who their children are, but by LISTENING to them, I gather I am not alone in this view.There are people who live behind me who have told me a great deal about where he comes from in overseeing older kids at different schools and question his ajustment in dealing with younger children like ours.I have to believe that perhaps the loss of sight in his JOB in educating our children and treating parents with the respect we deserve are conflicting with an unwarranted personal view of power and authority instead.Maybe he is in the wrong line of work or just not able to adjust with todays times, but I know this for a certainty, that if he were to ever act in a way that I feel inappropriate toward any child I will certainly handle it.His JOB is to educate and watch over our childs education, nothing more!

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted May 30, 2011
- a community member
I love this school!!!My teachers have been the best,here's a BIG shoutout to Mrs.Hill and Mrs.Ashworth and Mrs.Kiminski!We have special programs throughout the year.I am also in their TAG system and it is very fun to be in.We have gym,music,and art which I think is very important to have in a school.THANK YOU MR.PORTER!!!We also have a jumprope team which I think is awesome and we have the BEST coach,MR.WILLIAMS.I repeat,I LOVE THIS SCHOOL!


Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2011
- a parent
I love this school! They are very focused on the children as a whole. They are very disicplined and stay on a schedule. Always having contests and programs to get the kids interested in reading and math. They also still have PE, Music, and Art, which I think is important for all children. Mrs. Crissy Wheeler is the best 5th grade teacher, she has been a godsend to my daughter. Thank you Mrs. Wheeler!!

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2010
- a parent
VOBE is a WV School of Excellence and I can certainly see why they received this coveted award. The new administration, the teachers, office staff, cooks and custodians are all very welcoming and efficient. Everyone has the best interest of the students at heart and that shows in the attitudes, achievment and behaviors of the children. Lots of wonderful things going on at VOBE .

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted June 02, 2010
- a parent
My family just moved here from NY and I was quite nervous but the staff and students made my daughter feel right at home. My daughter is in first grade. I couldn't have asked for a better school!!!


Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted November 13, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted September 27, 2009
- a parent
i think this is a wonderful school. the staff there are great. my daughter is in the 1st grade and she loves it.

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 5

Posted July 06, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 1

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School 4

Posted June 30, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Village Of Barboursville Elementary School
718 Central Ave, Barboursville, WV  25504
(304) 733-3035
Last modified Village Of Barboursville Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Village Of Barboursville Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top