Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beckley-Stratton Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 696 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 10, 2009

Some of my favorite people teach there. They love the children and are very interested in their futures. In this day of so many kids and parents being out of control discipline wise and expecting teachers to do miracles, the teachers here really try to fill in a nearly impossible gap. they are to be commended on their efforts to make Raleigh County a better place to raise and educate children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2009

I love this school and there is a lot of good students and teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2009

I like it alot really nice teachers and lotta friends
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

I love Beckley Sratton. All the teachers are amazing and we get such a good education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Our students are th BEST! Learning can be fun and we prove it every day! We teachers really care about our students (and each other).
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers are great! The band is Great! Everything is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

it is awesome because the teachers are nice
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

I love Beckley Stratton. It's awsome the teachers are amazing and the school is great.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

Im getting a really good education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

beacause all the teachers are nice and the school is really big and it's awsomer than all the other middle schools in the county
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I love this school because all the teachers are nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

because it have very nicee teacher and alot people that you make friend with and there alot of fine girls there. and that why i love my school
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

The teachers are nice and we learn a lot! We do a lot of fun activities.:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

This school is so cool i love it i jus moved hear and having a blast!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 18, 2009

The school is so cool because we learn cool things and we learn how to do them in fun way. we also do fun activities and the teachers are so awsome.all the teachers have different ways for us to remember stuff, like the mickey mouse box and our multiples and everything. WOW it is so awsome beckley stratton is the B.E.S.T
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I'm a new student at beckley stratton and they've made me feel really welcome. It's a lot more work than my old school and i think it's going to be to my benefit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

Because I think it is a really modern school, offers a good curriculum and all-around atmosphere, and my Granddaughter is a student there.


Posted September 17, 2009

BEST Middle school is a leader in the community and a pilot school for many innovative programs.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 17, 2009

Our school is filled with dedicated teachers and staff. As a staff we work hard to ensure that all kinds are treated with respect and given every possible opportunity to learn. We are the BeSt!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2009

We have an extremely upbeat, outgoing, and supportive staff willing to reach out to each and every student.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

242 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

242 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

240 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
25%

2009

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

238 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
54%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2012.

214 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

213 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2012.

204 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 40% in 2012.

203 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
42%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2012.

227 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
44%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

217 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

216 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Black28%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities44%

Reading

All Students48%
Black28%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities52%

Science

All Students35%
Black20%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I35%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities38%

Social Studies

All Students41%
Black28%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Black43%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities54%

Reading

All Students52%
Black45%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities54%

Science

All Students43%
Black24%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I43%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities44%

Social Studies

All Students38%
Black24%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Black25%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities38%

Reading

All Students39%
Black30%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities44%

Science

All Students38%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities44%

Social Studies

All Students24%
Black14%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Title I24%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities28%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 92%
Black 26% 5%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

401 Gray Flats Rd
Beckley, WV 25801
Phone: (304) 256-4616

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Park Middle School
Beckley, WV





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT