Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Riverside High School

Public | 9-12 | 1244 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 13, 2013

Riverside is such a big joke. Teachers are only there for vacation and pay checks. Some students are disrespectful and teaches do nothing. Bullying goes on there and the principle allows it. Chorus teacher is a bully to the students and runs good kids off that love to sing. He is so disrespectful to the students and parents alike. He doesn't have any teaching skills or time management skills. And he belittles students and calls them degading names. Poor school and would not recomend sending your children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 2, 2010

This school is a very nice one. The teachers are great, but the majority of the students do not go there to learn. I know because I am a student myself and classes are constantly disrupted by students talking. Teachers do reprimand them, yes, but they just don't listen. They're disrespectful and loud. I don't like it. I want to go to school to learn, not listen to kids talk about their social life. Also, Riverside functions on a block schedule with four classes a day, and students trade off classes every semester. I don't like this because if I have a class the first semester I forget a few things once it s time to take the WesTest. Also the lengthy class time makes more time for students to get bored and begin talking. I believe this school will do much better with a regular schedule.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 19, 2010

Riverside rocks, every kid should come here. This school, is great to me, I love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2010

I think riverside is your typical wv public school. Teachers are forbidden to punish the children that do interrupt class. Most parents are not involved and do not care. I do have to say that I do like the principal and the band teacher and the marketing teacher. They have been very helpful when I have talked to them and needed them. It is a vicious Cycle the parents don't care therefor the students do not care and leaves our teachers that get tired of trying to help those that do not want help. Not saying that all the teachers there are great and do care but some do. We need parents to care. Our teachers need to be drug tested (wal mart does it) and our children need to learn life lessons
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2010

Riverside is a terrible school . Many student are completly disrespectful . Most of the teachers are there for the summer vaction, not to teach .
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2009

Riverside is not avery good school the kids are very uncontrolled.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 11, 2008

This school is in so much disarray, it's not funny. Many times it seems that this school is set up to punish those that do what they are supposed to do and refuse to properly punish those who disturb the serious students. There are many good teachers at Riverside, but many of these leave/retire due to the utter chaos that is always present.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 27, 2007

I think riverside highschool has a great program and the nicest teachers. My children love school and are excited to go.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

i love rhs with a passion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2006

Riverside is a wonderful school. This year they bought a brand new gym floor for the basketball players which I don't see why they need one the last court was just as good they could've used that money for text books.I think that the athletes should be smart because there has not been a basketball player come out of Riverside in forever.They need to work on the Academics and not the sports.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2006

Riverside HS has marvelous teachers for the classes offered, however, I feel that there lacks a variety of classes my child can choose from. There is a problem with the club and extracurricular activity area - my child has the ability to go far beyond what is offered at Riverside, and this greatly disappoints me, especially when my child showed me the class options list and club options list, and noting that students were allowed to only designate one club! The band also lacks leadership and needs more support for their booster program. Overall, I feel that my child's abilities are being limited by attending Riverside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2006

I think Riverside High is a good schooll, but has problems with not taking care of problems with bullying. I personally think RHS could be a better school if the so-called 'authority' would actually do something about the problems through-out the school. But other than that I do think RHS is a very good school: for learning,sports,and many other programs.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 29, 2005

RHS is a good school, it is full of wonderful teachers and has great courses for children to study. Mrs. Sharon Callard is the number one ENGLA teacher for your child(ren). They have a great band that is always underestimated. As a parent of a student at RHS, I see what teachers do for him. Mr. Fred Chiles is great with him. He always gives him advice on life and college options. Thank you RHS for your exellent teacher to student relationships. I think they could use a new principal though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

I think that RHS is a very good school. RHS is clean and bright and all together a good environment for children. There are many classes offered at RHS. I am happy with my choice of going to Riverside and I hope other people are too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

RHS is a very safe school. It leads Kanawha Counties new College Prep Curriculum. Offering classes for 6 different categories of college majors (Health, Natural Science, Engineering, Business, Arts, etc.). The Honors and AP classes offered are sometimes harder than College courses. All together out of all Kanawaha Co. schools RHS is the only one I would have wanted to go to.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

337 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

342 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
32%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

330 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
21%

2009

 
 
37%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

325 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
27%

2009

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

289 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
41%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

294 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
24%

2009

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

273 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

249 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

248 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
25%

2009

 
 
42%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
22%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Black57%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities48%

Reading

All Students49%
Black48%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities51%

Science

All Students26%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged19%
Title I26%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities27%

Social Studies

All Students34%
Black40%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I34%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities35%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students29%
Black5%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I29%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities31%

Reading

All Students43%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Title I43%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities46%

Social Studies

All Students27%
Black6%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Title I27%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Black44%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities39%

Reading

All Students40%
Black56%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities41%

Social Studies

All Students23%
Black20%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 92%
Black 6% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Warrior Way
Belle, WV 25015
Phone: (304) 348-1996

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Carver Career Center
Charleston, WV






The Keystone School
Charleston, WV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT