Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Buckhannon Upshur High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 2, 2013

My school is fine. In the other reviews people said stuff about fighting and a tardy policy. Both of those are not true anymore. There still are fights but a 'fight' lasts like 10 seconds before broken up. There is not a ton of fights and usually they are about couples and their relationships and other stupid things like that. It's a quiet peaceful town with not a lot of violence and crime if u are in the right areas. The westtest2 scores on here are completely irrelevant. The reason the are so bad is because more than half of students don't try on it because it doesn't effect them. All it does is make our school look really bad. We have a pretty nice school building. It's a little old but we just got a new gym floor, library, and they are in the process of redoing the auditorium. Also we have a artificial turf football field, drivers Education course, swimming pool, tennis courts, FFA barn(future Farmer's of America), baseball field, cross country course, rubberized track, and we are very close to Fred Eberly Technical Center which offers a variety of courses that train students in particular skill so the can work straight from high school without college
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2013

My school is great for every thing except for preparing for the future. Also since at least half of the students here qualify for free/ reduced lunchs I don't think some people can afford to take tests like the ACT or SAT there used to be GEARUP that payed for some students first time taking the the test but now everyone does it on their own. The counselors here are really a waste of three jobs. They don't help with scholarships, test dates, college tours, college applications, or even emotional situations
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 2, 2013

I really love all of the extracurricular activities at school. Like I am in the FEA (future educators of America) and we just finished teachering students at the local middle school. We have been doing that for the past few days. Also I have a friend in the Fred W Eberle Technical Center nearby studying to be a nurse, and by the time we finish high school she will be a legal nurse. My school helps out a lot with people struggling to graduate like offering credit recovery classes and some summer school options. But it does lack tutoring, it's offered in the morning for math but for the students who don't drive to school and ride the scho buses it is impossible to make it to those. I do like having reward events all the students in the school who met some requirement get rewards occasionally. Also the school pep rally's durning school are always fun.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 5, 2011

Best school in the world. send your kids her for the best learning experience ever.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2010

I love BU High School! But I have to agree with some comments below. I have 1 student in high school and one that has graduated. My college son has encountered time after time areas in which BU High School did not prepare him for college. He just finished his 3rd year in college. I also agree that they do not promote scholarship help as much as they should. And some of their disipline policies are totally rediculous, with adverse affects on students who really do try! And the list goes on and on. I am so glad my youngest son will graduate in 2013. Hopefully he can make it that long! So sorry for those that will be coming up to the high school behind him. Because it gets worse and worse everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2009

I have two students in this school at the moment and have seen the school through both perspectives. There is no help for college prep or discussion with the counselors. They do not help with scholarship info. There is a new policy where students are sent to the auditorium when arriving at school late or tardy for a class. They are to remain there all day, How is this going to educate our kids? My kids are active in sports and have tried to be involved. I would expect more from a school system that is trying to improve drop out rates and test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2009

I go to this school and the things i see and hear is ridiculous. Like the last review, our school food is horrible. That does not mean that you have to eat it. I never do and don't complain, because I'm doing two sports at once at this school and i don't get home until 6:30. I will give the teachers credit, we have some of the most disrespectful people. These people do not have proper work ethic nor do they pay attention half the time. The teachers here at this school try very hard, but it never works out due to the fact of the lack of discipline, lack of respect, and lack of pride in oneself. I've never watched as people constantly bicker and yell at the most childish and immature topics.At the beginning of the year, we were averaging at least 2 to 4 fights a day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 14, 2009

Great school! I have so many fond memories from the halls of B-UHS! My son graduated in 2007 and he had a great experience. He took all of the right classes (AP courses) and was involved in many activities. My daughter will graduate in 2010. She also is having a good experience and is taking challenging courses. Without a doubt, I believe Buckhannon Upshur is one of the best. The person who wrote the review below is right. Buckhannon has other places in other states beat. My brother lives in North Carolina and wishes his kids could go to a school like B-UHS. I have lives in Buckhannon all of my life and it is a wonderful community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

Some of what the first person said is true, school food is school food. But I think we need a state of emergency like Randolph county, there needs to be a house cleaning done on a lot of the staff, They show up to collect a pay check and give our kids nothing in return, no education or improper education for life after school. I know a lot of the kids drop out because it is so bad there that they just don't want to go and this is good kids, not the bad or unruly kids. I will say this I have been to 2 other states and had my children in there school systems, and Buckhannon does have them beat on a lot of things, but there is room for improvement. The teachers that have 25-50 years or more in need to retire.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2008

The person who wrote the last review couldn't be more wrong. Have you ever been to B-UHS? School lunch is school lunch. Its the same everywhere. If you hate it so much in Buckhannon, just leave already. The school has a great deal of highly skilled teaching professionals and they truly care about the well being of the students. B-U High has several outstanding notable alumni that have done great things with their lives. Buckhannon is a nice, safe, quaint community in the hills of WV. If you ae in the market to move to North Central WV, I encourage you to consider Buckhannon as your new home!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 25, 2007

This is the worst school I have ever been to. The food is never cooked right and it literally pours out greese when you turn it over. None of the teachers try hard enough to teach students or help them with problems. There are fights every day and 99% of the kids can't speak proper english and they don't even care. Kids drop out every year and barely anyone does good on SATS. I would never recommend this school to anyone who is moving into the area. I wouldn't recommend moving here either, it's a horrible horrible town. ~Moving Soon
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

283 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
48%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

284 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

284 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

283 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

267 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

267 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

268 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

221 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students28%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Title I28%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities31%

Reading

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities46%

Science

All Students28%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I28%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities31%

Social Studies

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Title I32%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities36%

Reading

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities43%

Social Studies

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I44%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities57%

Reading

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities47%

Social Studies

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 92%
Black 1% 5%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

50 Buckhannonupshur Dr
Buckhannon, WV 26201
Phone: (304) 304-3720

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT