Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1083 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 19, 2014

If you are considering moving to this area and have school aged children RUN...don't walk elsewhere. This school is run by small town bureaucrats that are very unwelcoming to newcomers. They concentrate on meaningless ideals and have no idea what these kids actually need to succeed in life outside a small community. Washington HS has not met the AYP in a number of years and the principal is more concerned with her own personal agenda than the well being of the children. There is absolutely zero communication with the parents and her lack of leadership and knowledge has been exhibited on a number of occasions such as allowing children to miss buses when sporting events have been cancelled and she didn't have enough insight to verify facts before the end of the day and shrugs her shoulders and says I didn't know. News flash...it is your job to know! If this is the best school in WV it is no wonder WV is 48th in country for education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

Wonderful school! I have noticed care, concern, empathy of the all the staff towards the young men who attend. The curriculum is geared toward college preparations, the athletics department is growing and the atmosphere is always positive. I am very grateful my kids have been able to attend such a wonderful learning institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2013

What an awful place. We left this area a few years ago and I never knew how bad I had it until I left. I thought I respected the school at the time but it turns out I was just trying to justify the bad education my son was getting. There was very little other than football and basket ball offered in the way of extra curricular activities. Bored kids equal trouble and let me tell you, I know there still is trouble there. My son has great extra cirricular activities where we are, his GPA has sky rocketed, I have seen support staff actually support students. Not there, his guidance counselor was very unkind. If you are considering moving here, don't. It was the worst decision I ever made. Stay in Virginia - schools are much better, resources are much better, more for kids to be involved in. Just beware.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2012

This school is such a great place. It's clean, fresh, and bright. The environment is nurturing and expectations for students are high. This is the only high school in the county where the principals regularly check in on substitute teachers to make sure they are doing alright with the class and answer any questions they might have. Discipline is fair and even-handed. The music program is strong and has dedicated personnel and band boosters.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Washington High School is the best school because of our dedicated staff and hard working students. I love working in a school where learning is fun and innovative, and we absolutely have this atmosphere at WHS. Go Patriots!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 20, 2010

Washington High school is the best run school in the state of WV. They care about their students, parents and staff. They go above and beyond to make sure the learning enviorment is top notch for the students @ WHS. They have a great graduation rate as well as college rate. I wouldn't want my child to go to ANY other school in the state!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

At Washington academics is the number one priority. It has a great learning environment and everyone wants the students to achieve and reach their individual potential. Many teachers go beyond what they are called to do to re-teach and also provide confidence that each student may take with them into the future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

The facility is wonderful and the faculty is a terrific mix of interesting people. It is a great place to work and hopefully pass on my love of learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Washington High has a great discipline policy, caring teachers, and a wonderful special education staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Staff is polite and professional and students are (for the most part) well behaved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I admire and appreciate the wonderful caring faculty and staff at WHS for the students as well as one another. I am an employee here and enjoy being a part of the awesome Patriot pride that is shown during the school day as well as in our community. Washington is a true and positive atmosphere for our students to help prepare them as mature and successful adults.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Washington High is a great place to work the kidds are not here to goof off they realy do want to learn to me that says a lot for the addmenistration the teacher as well as the parent of these fine students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Washington High School is a great place to learn. The faculty and staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The students are great overall courteous and friendly.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

I think this school is an excellent learning environment and a pleasure to work at.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 19, 2010

The school is very well run and organized. The principal keeps everything the way it should be and truly cares about her kids and the staff. She supports all organizations, sports and clubs equally and encourages others to do the same.


Posted April 19, 2010

A professional work environment and focus on academics makes this school a great place to work and learn!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 18, 2010

I love Washington High School because our students are the best ever.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

I love this school because of the staff. They are highly professional and innovative individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

It is the cleanest and sharpest facility around. The teachers care and work the hardest in all of WV!
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

261 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

258 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
32%

2009

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

257 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

288 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

288 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

284 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

255 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

257 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

243 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities44%

Reading

All Students51%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities56%

Science

All Students29%
Black13%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Title I29%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities31%

Social Studies

All Students47%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Black39%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities49%

Reading

All Students49%
Black35%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities53%

Social Studies

All Students56%
Black27%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I56%
Students with disabilities13%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Black35%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Title I59%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities63%

Reading

All Students51%
Black39%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities56%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 92%
Black 10% 5%
Hispanic 6% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 30%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Washington Patriots Dr
Charles Town, WV 25414
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 725-8491

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jefferson High School
Shenandoah Junction, WV




Faith Christian Academy
Martinsburg, WV


Martinsburg High School
Martinsburg, WV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT