Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles Town Middle School 1

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is in 6th grade and is being bullied by not only students, but a teacher as well. I have called the principle to discuss this and had to leave a voicemail. This was wary in the week and I have still not gotten a call back from him. This issue is not being taken seriously. My daughter has constant stomach aches from stress (Doctor verified), stress headaches, anxiety, and now her grades are slipping. I feel helpless and lost because the school does nothing.

Charles Town Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
My daughter is being bullied by a teacher. Even though ice had her removed from the class and put in another, the same teacher is still bullying.


Charles Town Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
There is nothing fair about bullying, especially when it comes from a teacher. this school has done nothing to help my daughter despite my reaching out to them.

Charles Town Middle School 4

Posted September 13, 2014
- a community member
I have no experience with the middle school. Jefferson County Public Schools, however are led by an uninspired bureaucrat whose most important quality has been keeping herself in business and who is now on her way out. She needs to be replaced with an educator with excellent academic qualifications from outside of WV. The bureaucrats under her all need to go as well. Jefferson County is emblematic of backward thinking, self serving WV bureaucracy. One previous high school principal and one middle school principal were shockingly bad choices. With smart middle class people moving in, this district should change. The attendance at board of education meeting is surprisingly poor.

Charles Town Middle School 5

Posted May 10, 2010
- a community member
Being a grandmother and university literacy professor, I rate the school's academic and fine arts programs, a 5! Thank you for your instructional awareness and assistance with diverse students. A Happy Grandmother!


Charles Town Middle School
no rating

Posted April 16, 2009
- a student
this school is a very good school. i finish my last middle year at charlestown middle school i love this school i miss it very much. it has great teachers and great staff i ended up as being top eight grader i remenber when i was in 6th grade i didnt knew anything but once i went to ctms i got good grades.

Charles Town Middle School 4

Posted March 15, 2008
- a student
I go to this school and it may be poor but it rocks we have great teachers and a good school.everyone is always there thats why its over growed cause its awesome

Charles Town Middle School
no rating

Posted February 09, 2008
- a student
Charles Town middle school is a great school they are opening another middle school called Wilwood so CTMS won't be so overcrowded like it is.


Charles Town Middle School 4

Posted October 25, 2005
- a teacher
More PE? I think what needs to be addressed is the lack of languages offered, not cutting back on the only one offered so kids can go to gym more. CTMS's biggest problem is class size. Teachers and administration are overwhelmed with large classes. The school is way too small for the number of students.

Charles Town Middle School 2

Posted September 05, 2004
- a parent
I have been somewhat disappointed with this school, but I am remaining hopeful for my 8th grader. We recently relocated from Virginia and my first impression was based on lack of communication. For whatever reason, phones are not answered regularly, the school website is not maintained (no emails posted), parent information was delayed to second week, no formality to open house (no principal introducation), though clean today, water-stained ceiling tiles/bathroom mirrors need replacing, and bathrooms are not quality clean. It is overcrowded but there are things that could be done differently (i.e. stagger bell schedules to reduce hall traffic; alternate days for PE/Spanish so more can get PE; keep communication open via emails, etc.). I do think the teachers/administration are overwhelmed and cannot keep up with the numbers, which is understandable, but modifications can and should be made. As a parent, you must become and remain involved for your child's education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Town Middle School
193 High St, Charles Town, WV  25414
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (304) 725-7821
Last modified Charles Town Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top