Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Page Jackson Elementary School

Public | PK-2

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2010

Page Jackson has wonderful teachers and staff that care about their students. We love our students at PJE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2010

Won a National Health Award this year; excellent teaching staff who are dedicated to providing the best education for your children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2010

I love the children and parents that I am so furtunate to work with! The teachers are so hard working and make it a joy to come to work.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2010

I love working at Page Jackson. Not only that the school won the National Health Award, but we are concerned about our students education. We give them the best so that they can excell in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

Page-Jackson Elementary is a great school. We are only K-2nd grades. We have lots of fun while learning. We have wonderful teachers with lots of experience. We love our kids.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 29, 2010

I have a wonderful support system that ensures that I can give nothing less than the best to my students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

PJE is an awesome school. I really enjoy working there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2008

our boys love the school, however the principal is not my idea of what someone in this position should be. the teachers are all loving and wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

I think Page Jackson is a great school. My daughter had just enrolled the school about a month ago. She had just came to the States after spending 5 years in China, so she doesn't speak any English at all. However, all the teachers were really wonderful to her and gave her lots of workbooks and other fun activities for her to take home. She had master the 123's and the ABC's and other simple words. Also, she loves to go to school every morning. All in all this is a wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I am from Maryland and the school system is horribly disorganized at page jackson. The school has lost several of my orders and then keeps asking for more money. If they had not lost money to begin with, maybe they would not need to ask. I also feel that the good teachers do not stay and the rest just dont give these kids attention. It hurts the kids in the end.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2006

I have two children in page jackson and both love going to school. Neither had had preschool exposure and have made the leap into all day public school with ease! the teachers have been wonderful and i am very impressed with the curriculum! the fact that my children are learning, anticipating going to school even on the weekends, are making friends and are extremely happy makes me feel good about their learning experience at page jackson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

My children both went to this school K-3. Page Jackson is a really nice school with loving teachers & staff that care about the children. One of the programs they have for the students is called the 'Sunshine award',given for good deeds, etc and is presented in a ceremony in front parents,students and staff. My daughter recieved it for helping others in the class. It really boosted her self esteem! Over all, this is a warm, nuturing enviroment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2006

I think that Page Jackson should be more creative with learning. Boys and girls learn differently and this school thinks in the box and I am not impressed at all. I am thinking seriously in to a private school. My son learned more in preschool in 1/2 a day than he has in this school a full day. Matter of a fact he has forgotten the things he knew.He has actually said he didn't want to go to school and that never was said in preschool. Children should be awarded and praised ,not reprimanded for just about any thing and given colored cards for discipline in front of their peers.Children are expected to act like adults as children. Very stressful to children and we know how many children are on medicine today to 'calm them down so we adults can deal with them!' Stress can strink the brain!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 78% 92%
Black 8% 5%
Hispanic 8% 1%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of Excellence

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
Fax number
  • (304) 725-2968

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • We have many voluteers on a regular basis. over 300 hours was logged last year by volunteers.
More from this school
  • Since we are a PreK through second grade school we have many volunteers and lots of activities. Our discipline rates are good because we don't have the influences of older children.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Wright Denny Intermediate school
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

370 Page Jackson School Rd
Charles Town, WV 25414
Website: Click here
Phone: (304) 728-9212

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Claymont Childrens School
Charles Town, WV






Jefferson Academy
Kearneysville, WV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT