Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wright Denny Intermediate School

Public | 3-5 | 446 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 15, 2011

My children was transferred to Wright Denny March 2010 because of me transferring jobs. Nevertheless, I feel the teacher's are not as great as what they had previously out of state. No offense but my children's teachers are all older and seems as though they don't have much patience for the kids. As soon as a new job opening comes my way me and my family are out of here! I am a very concerned parent and I don't feel my children are getting the best education at this time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2010

This school is amasing it is the oldest school in charles town and I go there


Posted April 30, 2010

Wright Denny is a great school and as a parent, I have nothing to complain about the school. The teachers give the best for the education of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

I am a grandparent and I think Wright Denny is the best school in the State. I have no worries regarding my grandson. His teachers are top notch!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2010

My child is in 4th grade and loves the school, he makes good grades and his teachers seem to be on the ball!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I go way back with this school. My dad walked these halls and he's 71. I attended first grade in 1973. My daughter now attends in the 3rd grade. It is a great group of caring staff and administrators. You always feel good when you visit.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

i luv wright denny it has the best teachers i think it is the best in the state
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 29, 2008

My school is the best it is safe and the teachers are the nicest Mrs.Thomas is the nicest Mrs.Billmier is the coolest Miss.Revell is the nicest and the coolest she gives you candy if you are good!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2008

Denny is one of the best schools and in the county along with T.A.Lowery elementary they are both really good schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

131 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
54%

2009

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

142 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
70%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

140 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Black41%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I64%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities66%

Reading

All Students63%
Black41%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Title I63%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities68%

Science

All Students50%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities53%

Social Studies

All Students53%
Black24%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I53%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Black50%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities50%

Reading

All Students51%
Black36%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities53%

Science

All Students45%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities47%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Black27%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Title I56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities59%

Reading

All Students68%
Black36%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I68%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities71%

Science

All Students49%
Black9%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I49%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities51%

Social Studies

All Students54%
Black36%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 92%
Black 10% 5%
Hispanic 9% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

209 West Congress St
Charles Town, WV 25414
Phone: (304) 725-2513

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Claymont Childrens School
Charles Town, WV







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT