Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

George Washington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1115 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2010

Great academics. If your top priority is academics, then this is the school for you. For kids who are not self guided, this may not be the right school for them. If you are concerned about fitting into cliques, this may or may not be the school for you, because you may or may not fit in. If your number one goal is being prepared for college, competition, and life in general, this is definitely the school for you.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2010

I have 3 children who all graduated from GW. It is a great school. The modular schedule is wonderful and not at all difficult to follow with minimum effort. Most of the teachers will go out of their way to help you if you demonstrate to them that you are really trying. My children spent a great deal of time studying (took all AP or Honors classes) but were also active in sports, music, and clubs and still managed to graduate with honors. They are doing well in college as they learned how to schedule their time well in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2010

GW is a great school. My child went to GW from out of district and I am so glad. He learned so much, including self direction and responsibilty. The large group lecture setting is a definite prep for college. Yes, occasionally there are some of the parents who are cliquish and think they are better than others and better than the teachers, but overall, most parents & staff are nice. Students are, for the most part, pleasant. If your child is suspended often, then why don't you attend school with them? You can follow them around all day to classes and at lunch and see what they are doing (or not doing) that is getting them suspended. I wouldn't want my other children to go to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I am an alumnus and give GW 4 stars, based mainly on academic programs. But there are some downsides that you should know: **SOME** teachers pick favorites (usually children of rich/important families) and balance it out with 'pick-ees' based on personality confilcts. Also, the 6 day modular system makes no sense to me. It requires a great deal of effort just to remember where you are supposed to be at any one given time. I went to a big 10 college and had MWF or TTh scheduling, so I don't know why GW throws in the 6th day. I actually did alot better, GPA wise, in college than I did at GW. I don't know if that means that GW prepared me well, or that I underachieved at GW because of the modular system.


Posted February 28, 2010

i have 4 kids in g.w. and i personally think they are the worst school ever. they have no control over the students, do not know were the students are half the time. the get their favorites to pick on then keep suspending them. and this is not only my kids, i have many friends and realitives that have thought the same.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

Don't get me wrong: I sincerely believe that George Washington has its faults. For the person that stated 'my daughter tells me most teachers either read a script or pass out a handout,' your daughter is obviously taking the wrong classes in the school if this is not what she desires. That's what so great about the school: you can get whatever you want. If you want discussion, you can get that by taking the upper-level classes (i.e. AP, and sometimes honors). This school is what you take out of it. We have great teachers and great comrardery among students, if you are just willing to put yourself out there. GW is a great school that prepares you tremendously for college. I even know of a girl that got in front of her college class and explained a concept because she explained better than the professor!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2009

As a former student and parent of current student I am happy to say the school still represents the finest in public education available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

great school for our children they love the atmosphere that the school gives off. they do great acidemicly. and have many friends there aren't that many clicks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

It's an exclusive school, that's for sure. But exclusive means exclusionary, and the way the classes become so terribly close is by excluding anyone who didn't start with them in kindergarten. I'm sorry I ever took the trouble to get my child in -- neither I nor my child were ever made to feel welcome no matter how hard we tried to get involved. I lost count of the number of times and people that walked away or at least looked away while I was trying to speak to them. Talk about feeling invisible! We will not go back next year, and far from feeling like anybody will be glad of it, I doubt they will even notice we're gone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2008

Yes, there is a modular schedule, which is nice, but it's hardly unique in the country. The principal is nice and sincere enough, but she's the third principal in four years and one of the vice principals was fired last year under a strange and not fully publicly-understood set of circumstances. My daughter tells me most teachers either read a script or pass out a handout and she is thrilled if a teacher actually lectures or freely discusses a subject with her and the class. Several teachers I have tried to have discussions with over the subject matter are highly defensive and even openly hostile to 'being questioned' by a parent. Yes, the band and sports teams are great, and there is a lot of parent involvement, but if you haven't been in the area for most of your life, a parent can also be shunned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

This is a good school. We have a great principal and staff who are genuinely interested in helping the students learn. Facilities are acceptable. Students sometimes act up, but rarely, and it is a very safe environment. Students are involved and possess lots of school spirit. Some of the best academics, band, and sports in the state!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 19, 2008

This school is what you make of it. If you don't get involved and don't take advantage of the unique mod schedule, you will be unhappy. GW's mod schedule is the only one of its kind. I loved it. my only gripe is that, because it is one of th best high schools in the area, way too many kids are allowed in from out of district, leading too some severe overcrowding problems. Our principal is simply the best. Everytime she speaks about the school you can hear the happiness and love of GW in her voice. This school is Fantastic!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

Poor facility, poor education, low class (morally) people. Hated it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2008

Excellent academic standards and wonderful system of self-direction really allow students' intelligence to blossom and reach full potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

292 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
76%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

291 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

290 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

287 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

286 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

289 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

277 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

239 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

238 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
n/a

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Black28%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Title I66%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities69%

Reading

All Students71%
Black40%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I71%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities75%

Science

All Students55%
Black28%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I55%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities57%

Social Studies

All Students62%
Black36%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Title I62%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Black25%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I66%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities68%

Reading

All Students72%
Black40%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Title I72%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities74%

Social Studies

All Students75%
Black47%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I75%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
Black44%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%

Reading

All Students71%
Black63%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I71%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities73%

Social Studies

All Students67%
Black43%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 92%
Black 10% 5%
Asian 6% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 18%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1522 Tennis Club Rd
Charleston, WV 25314
Phone: (304) 348-7729

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




The Keystone School
Charleston, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT