Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kanawha City Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 307 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

As a graduate of this school I can honestly say that this was the best school I ever went to. Granted that was back in the late 90's and early 2000's when Ms. Valentine was there, she has since retired but I do know that some of the teachers are still there and they still implement Ms. Valentine's caring and compassion approach at education. 5 stars by a long shot!!! I truly believe I would not be the man I am today if it wasn't for my time at this school. -Dylan Class of 2002


Posted August 28, 2013

As a second year parent at KCE I find the school to be well run, clean and safe. The principal and/or other adult greets students by name every morning. The students are respectful and always orderly. All teachers my child has contact with are excellent teachers and caring individuals. We are involved parents and the school welcomes our involvement and our presence at any time. I believe the staff has high expectations for every child and the principal has high expectations for all staff members. Academic performance is rewarded and my child is challenged. I'm very pleased with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2013

KCE is a great school that has strong teachers and a good principal. The kids are well behaved and the parents are very involved.


Posted April 27, 2013

Been here 2 years and I am very happy. The academics are better than the previous Catholic school. My kids love it and they do great both learning and socializing. I am sick and tired about parents complaining about " stern" teachers. If kids follow simple rules, nobody gets yelled at. Not all teachers are strong, but I do believe in beings personally involved in my kids' education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2013

I also dont feel the staff is very friendly at the school. I'm tired of not getting notes sent home telling me when there is no school or when the half days are. I dont get the note until a day or two, to late. I do not like the Attitude of M. Mogase, she is very rude and is honestly way to stern with the children, not just one but several children. The children are really afraid of her. NO studant should be afraid of any teacher. How can they trust someone like that if they should ever really have a problem at school or in there home life? I know my kids wouldnt tell her if they were even sick because they are so afraid of her and my kids are no Angels but never had any problems at the other school, they used to enjoy school, but not now. I do not reccomend this school for any children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I've read the other reviews, and I tend to agree with most. I'm concerned about the schools ways of discipline. My kids dont like being yelled at, I dont want teachers to be so stern that my kids think they are being yelled. It's up to the parent to discipline the child Not a teacher. I find alot of things are just to dificult for my kids. Especially my 8 yr old with a learning disability. My kids started this year, they cry and dont want to go to school, they say they hate it. I just dont know what else to do but find another school for them, maybe a christian school. The principal didnt want to be bothered with me when I enrolled my kids an tried to tell her of the problems they had. They recently lost their father and were feeling lost. I have had the feeling of non careing ever since they started there. Thats only my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

My child has gone to KCE for 6 years and will be going to middle school next year. I feel that our new principle is political. Some of the teachers don't listen to both sides when there is an argument. Their academic records are good. The good thing about that school is their loving caring counselor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

My child has attended KCE 2 yrs. now. I have not been impressed by the communication between teachers and parents. Papers and forms of events are always sent after the fact. The gym is way undersized for the amount of students. Students are not excersized, also I dont believe my child gets enough stimulation out of the lesson plans. Students get practically zero hands on learning. On a lighter note. It is refreshing to see the principal opening the car doors, and greeting the children and parents every morning rain or shine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2009

For the most part this school has been wonderful. Only of my children goes here now but soon both will be. Academically the school is wonderful. My child's reading level is higher than normal for kids her age (as is her classmates as well). The only issues we've had are with discipline system ,that I was not so impressed with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Glad my children have finally moved on. KCE struggled with leadership when my children attended and when a new principal come abroad, not sure it got any better. My second child's experience there on the whole was not pleasant all. There were several bright spots however- the very caring counsellor, one of the fifth grade teachers, the cooks, and the custodial staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 28, 2007

Kanawha City Elem. is an outstanding school! It is a great community school and my child had an exceptional year. His Kindergarten teacher was amazing and almost every student was reading on a first grade level by the end of the year. KCE has a large number of parent volunteers who work daily throughout the school. The PTA funds many special events and programs for the students and the community. All students at KCE participate in art class, music class, and physical education at least once a week. KCE is truly an excellent school with a positive and comfortable atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2006

I cannot express how proud I am of the quality of KCE. My children absolutely excelled here, and were very happy through elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

43 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
55%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
38%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

47 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
75%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

45 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
58%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

39 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged21%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities43%

Reading

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities43%

Science

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities43%

Social Studies

All Students37%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged18%
Title I37%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities40%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
Black40%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I54%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities61%

Reading

All Students62%
Black50%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I62%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities68%

Science

All Students52%
Black40%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities58%

Social Studies

All Students45%
Black0%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged50%
Title I64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities67%

Reading

All Students56%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities56%

Science

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%

Social Studies

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged20%
Title I44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 92%
Black 14% 5%
Asian 6% 1%
Hispanic 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3601 Staunton Ave SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 348-1985

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Agnes School
Charleston, WV






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT