Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ruffner Elementary School 5

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
I have 4 children who have been attending Ruffner since 2007. This school has continually improved over the years. We have some teachers who have been here since my kids started and longer, and many new faces as well. ALL of the staff is so eager to make Ruffner a wonderful place for our kids to walk into each day. They try their best to make learning as enjoyable a process as they can. They encourage healthy practices as well as individual creativity. It is a FANASTIC community to belong to. ALSO...this 4 rating based on 2011-12 test scores is SERIOUSLY outdated. Ruffner has continually improved test scores.

Ruffner Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
Chafin, Runion, Harper, Redmond, Ms Lucy, Parsons, Eid....just a few of the teachers my kids have had that I can say do AWESOME jobs!!


Ruffner Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted July 10, 2016
- a parent
I said too much, but I feel EVERY school these days gives too much. It's not just a Ruffner thing.

Ruffner Elementary School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
Ruffner is a wonderful school, my daughter attended the school and loved it. Many of the teachers are and will work beyond their duty. Have nothing but great comments on the school.

Ruffner Elementary School 3

Posted August 12, 2012
- a parent
This school is great overall, however i think that the teachers in 4th and 5th grade are not very knowledgeable in their teaching level of math. Thank goodness my child comes from a family of Math majors or she would have failed miserably in this area. The teachers are kind and personable which is great, but in a education setting we need instructors who can understand their class curriculum and teach it to their class in a way that is receptive to the student. I believe teacher raises should be based on the outcome of the student test scores. Not on the basis of being "Teacher".


Ruffner Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 30, 2005
- a teacher
A clarification of the parent input about the classroom with 'peers': I believe that parent is describing a special pre-school program designed for children with disabilities which is open to students without disabilities. While, of course, special education students are served throughout the grade levels, the ratio of students with disabilities is naturally higher in that classroom, and many activities are naturally specially designed to serve them. An advantage, however, is that the staff to student ratio is very high--almost 1 teacher or aide for 3 students. (this comment from a teacher at Ruffner)

Ruffner Elementary School 5

Posted March 09, 2005
- a parent
This is my son's first year at Ruffner and he is doing great with the staff and other children in his class. The teachers are always very helpful and voice their concerns about my child. Parents are always included in class activities. This year (2004-2005) the children have finally recieved the new playground which the staff has been working very hard for many years to get for them. I think Ruffner school and staff are both very outstanding.

Ruffner Elementary School 4

Posted March 01, 2005
- a parent
This is my daughter's first year at Ruffner. She is in a class which has regular students labeled as 'peers' and students with disabilities such as Autism. I feel that the class is a great opportunity for the students with disabilities, however, I feel that my daughter and the other 'peers' are at a disadvantage somewhat. I believe she would receive more of the challanges she needs in a traditional classroom. The teachers all seem to be very caring and they all work very hard. The principal is always visible at the school and is very approachable.

Nearby schools

Ruffner Elementary School
809 Litz Dr, Charleston, WV  25311
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (304) 348-1130
Last modified Ruffner Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top