Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sissonville High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2013

Why is this school filled with so many neo-nazis and white supremacists? Is this just some temporarily fad going on or are the students here reflecting the Sissonville community?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

I've moved to TN and am still very proud of my WV roots. I just heard where SHS has decided to change a policy of praying before ballgames: don't do it, please! Don't be bullied nor scared into changing a choice to pray for safety and sportsmanship for the youth at your school. What does that hurt? For those who don't want to pray, don't pray. Don't be ashamed, Sissonville, of acknowledging God.


Posted November 26, 2009

This is a wonderful school. I always felt very supported by my teachers, and overall I felt like it was a great place to go to school. Now that I've graduated, I wish I were still there. The only thing I didn't like is that the principal has suppressed the art programs to the point where the band is all that's left. I was in band, though, and I had a great experience. It was the highlight of my high school years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 27, 2008

I love it ! All of the teachers are great ! ! ! ! !
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 26, 2008

I am a current student at Sissonville High School and I love it. Sissonville is a wonderful school. It feels like one great big family. This high school is sometimes looked down upon when really it is one of the most welcoming to new students and staff. I would never change my school even if I had to move 3 hours away. I love Sissonville.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 26, 2007

Sissonville is a great enviornment and they do all they can to create that enviornment and show the kids they care. There are a variety of oppertunities a student can get there. I would recomend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 13, 2007

The amount of work being done to this school and around the area is something that we all take for granted. The academic support is greater than what most [people] think. Parents and teachers try to support us the best they can for a higher level of academic involvment. Even thought the music and art levels are down, we can all raise our voices for a greater education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2007

The music and fine arts programs in this school are being crushed or eliminated; once considered the 'pride of Sisssonville.' English classes rely on literature to teach composition-but it doesn't work. The class schedules limit students' abilities to take advanced classes and classes out of their 'career path.' Sissonville is a good school, but if the over-controlling administration doesn't refocus the current direction, step away from the 'mandatory' mentality, Sissonville will end up a 'poor' school. I am not bitter about my high school experience, but the few good things my class had going have been taken away from my sister and her peers. It is in the power of the administration to correct the school's flaws. I wish them luck.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 29, 2005

need to find a way to get more student involvement in extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

154 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

154 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
22%

2009

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

152 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

153 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
18%

2009

 
 
32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
23%

2009

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

144 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

143 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

141 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

136 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
15%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
19%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Title I26%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities31%

Reading

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged25%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities50%

Science

All Students23%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities27%

Social Studies

All Students27%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged16%
Title I27%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities32%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students38%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities41%

Reading

All Students42%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I42%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities46%

Social Studies

All Students36%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I36%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged23%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities37%

Reading

All Students28%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged15%
Title I28%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities30%

Social Studies

All Students15%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged8%
Title I15%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 92%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 42%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6100 Sissonville Dr
Charleston, WV 25312
Phone: (304) 348-1954

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT