Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 17 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
WE are a great public school . The staff takes pride in their teaching and knows every child by first name .

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted August 27, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted December 15, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended here for the last two years and her siblings attended several years ago. Truthfully, the differance is night and day with SW seeing immeasurable improvment under the current administration. Mr, A, the prinipal is one of the finest education leaders I have ever known and will do anything for his children. Anything. The county can replicate this program amd do quite well. Great job and thank you, Mr A!

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 4

Posted December 11, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2007
- a student
it is the best school ever we have good teachers good students

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a student
SJMS is the best school in WV.We have a great principle and great teachers. They all want every last one of us to succeed. Even when we do act up sometimes. We are good kids and they know it every school have their ups and downs. We are smart and we are better than the other schools in sports. Mr. Aulenbacher is trying to make it an academic school

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
SJMS gets the short end of the stick. The school personnel/administration are great! There is a serious lack of parental involvement.


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 2

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
There is a major lack of communication between parents, teachers and administrators at SJMS. Each time that I have been in the school the halls are full of students with seemingly no place to be. The office is a madhouse. There is a total lack of organization. Students slip through the cracks all the time with no concern or notation from the faculty. The students are under a dire need for direction and structure which this school environment obviously lacks.

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 3

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
My daughter went there her 6th & 7th grade years. She was the first 6th grade class of the middle school change. I was apprehensive about sending here there, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. The school was immaculate every time I visited. Children were not aimlessly roaming the hallways. The video camera monitors were prominately displayed in the office and vice principals and coaches walked the hallways. No middle school is great. Every middle school has fights and drugs to some extent. My biggest concerns at Stonewall were the lack of quality teachers and lack of funding. Her english teacher, at the open house, said 'we was' in explaining what the children were learning. Stonewall is NOT a bad school (at least no worse than the others). Parents DO care there. But the media/city wants it to fail.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stonewall Jackson Middle School
812 Park Ave, Charleston, WV  25302
(304) 348-6123
Last modified Stonewall Jackson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Stonewall Jackson Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top