Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted April 16, 2010
- a parent
WE are a great public school . The staff takes pride in their teaching and knows every child by first name .

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
My daughter attended here for the last two years and her siblings attended several years ago. Truthfully, the differance is night and day with SW seeing immeasurable improvment under the current administration. Mr, A, the prinipal is one of the finest education leaders I have ever known and will do anything for his children. Anything. The county can replicate this program amd do quite well. Great job and thank you, Mr A!


Stonewall Jackson Middle School
no rating

Posted October 29, 2007
- a student
it is the best school ever we have good teachers good students

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2007
- a student
SJMS is the best school in WV.We have a great principle and great teachers. They all want every last one of us to succeed. Even when we do act up sometimes. We are good kids and they know it every school have their ups and downs. We are smart and we are better than the other schools in sports. Mr. Aulenbacher is trying to make it an academic school

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 4

Posted March 29, 2007
- a parent
SJMS gets the short end of the stick. The school personnel/administration are great! There is a serious lack of parental involvement.


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 2

Posted January 08, 2007
- a parent
There is a major lack of communication between parents, teachers and administrators at SJMS. Each time that I have been in the school the halls are full of students with seemingly no place to be. The office is a madhouse. There is a total lack of organization. Students slip through the cracks all the time with no concern or notation from the faculty. The students are under a dire need for direction and structure which this school environment obviously lacks.

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 3

Posted August 25, 2005
- a parent
My daughter went there her 6th & 7th grade years. She was the first 6th grade class of the middle school change. I was apprehensive about sending here there, but ended up being pleasantly surprised. The school was immaculate every time I visited. Children were not aimlessly roaming the hallways. The video camera monitors were prominately displayed in the office and vice principals and coaches walked the hallways. No middle school is great. Every middle school has fights and drugs to some extent. My biggest concerns at Stonewall were the lack of quality teachers and lack of funding. Her english teacher, at the open house, said 'we was' in explaining what the children were learning. Stonewall is NOT a bad school (at least no worse than the others). Parents DO care there. But the media/city wants it to fail.

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 4

Posted June 16, 2005
- a parent
I appreciate the leadership at this school. I truly believe stonewalls teachers and administration are second to none.


Stonewall Jackson Middle School 5

Posted February 14, 2005
- a parent
This school is a good school believe it or not. My daughter goes there and I go to all of the school meetings. Their princepal has full intentions to make this school better and so far it is working. he is a great guy and wants to change the way people look at the school. As for the school it is good. it is like every other school but it is in the middle of the city and as long as it stays there it will get the medias full attention. Their is about 15 kids in each grade that ruin it for the whole school but it will change in the near future.

Stonewall Jackson Middle School 1

Posted July 05, 2004
- a student
There is absolutely no organization at Stonewall; they are constantly changing the schedules around for different events. The students are 'pre-assigned' at least 3 times a week, and they have nothing to do, and occassionally, they are pre-assigned to a teacher who is pre-assigned, which means they have no place they are supposed to go. Most of the teachers don't teach the students, they just tell them to read something, and then sit down and play around on the computer, they don't teach! Stonewall does have a few very good teachers, such as Mrs. Morgan, the spanish teacher (not virtual spanish) Only one administrator, Mr. McNeil the eighth grade VP actually cares about the students.

Nearby schools

Stonewall Jackson Middle School
812 Park Ave, Charleston, WV  25302
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (304) 348-6123
Last modified Stonewall Jackson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top