Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public district
Charleston, WV
Students enrolled: 1,261
 

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

9 reviews of this school


Capital High School 1

Posted April 13, 2013
- a parent
This school and Vice Principal Cruikshank in particular show a complete lack of concern about bullying and have swept issues under the rug. Total disregard for zero tolerance

Capital High School
no rating

Posted December 14, 2009
- a student
I am now a junior at Herbert Hoover, I transferred to HHHS from Capital at the beggining of this school year. I had attended Elkview Middle, and chose to attend Capital for sports (girls soccer & swimming). I excelled in sports at Capital, started as a freshman & sophmore on the soccer team, and was awarded to recieve 'freshman of the year' . I was very involved in Student Council, I was president for my freshman, sophmore, and was suppose to be my junior class as well... I absolutely loved Capital High School, the administration was strict, but they have to be, that is what keeps that school so good ! However, make sure you pick your friends wisely, and DO NOT give into peer pressure. Now that I have attended 2 different high schools, I realize how lucky I was to attend Capital. I feel so much prepared to 'the


Capital High School
no rating

Posted September 29, 2008
- a parent
My daughter loves this school this is her first year there

Capital High School 5

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
I have one son who has graduated from Capital and is maintaining a 4.0 in college. My other son is currently at Capital and is maintaining a 4.3 GPA. Capital is an excellent school and staff and administration work hard to make the school a safe and effective place.

Capital High School 1

Posted May 14, 2006
- a student
Capitol offers so many wonderful courses and activities, but the leadership is poor and it is very easy to not get your fullest education.


Capital High School 2

Posted January 09, 2006
- a parent
This school is good, but the principal is a poor excuse for leadership.

Capital High School 5

Posted June 16, 2005
- a student
Capital High School has an uncountable amount of extracurricular activities. It is a wonderful school. My brother is now a senior at Capital and has never had any complaints about this school. The parents and staff members are very well involved with all the students that attend Capital High School.

Capital High School 5

Posted February 15, 2005
- a parent
My son graduated in 2004 from Capital High and is now at WVU. He was very prepared for college and I think he received a very good education from Capital. There are many subjects to choose from as well as many extra-curricular activities. Capital was a very pleasant 4 years for me and my son.


Capital High School 5

Posted September 09, 2003
- a parent
My oldest has graduated from Capital High. I now have a daughter in 9th and one in 12th. This school is outstanding in faculty/teacher involvement with the children and outwardly show care. Best school in the Valley!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Capital High School
1500 Greenbrier St, Charleston, WV  25311
(304) 348-6500
Last modified Capital High School is a Public school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Capital High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top