Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Anthony Catholic School

Private | PK-9 | 96 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charleston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $109,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $620.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 10, 2014

I'am a old guy that went to school here about 1958 when my dad was stationed at the USAF cite 5 miles outside of town. A real old time Catholic school with beautiful nuns, still remember Mother Elise, and the wonderful way she helped me. God bless her and this school.


Posted February 3, 2013

I grew up in Charleston from 1962 to 1967 and attended my first grade level at St Anthony,s. I started 1st grade at a public school and did not do well. My father transferred me to St Anthony to start over. Our family moved back to California in 1967. Thanks to St Anthony I flourished throughout the rest of my school years.


Posted July 27, 2010

I went to school there, and in researching schools in this area, St. Anthony is really below average. I received an excellent education where I was challenged and was encouraged to excell. Now, it seems as if the standards are too low and everything is geared at helping the low students barely scrape by. This is a shame-- it used to be a good school. I've also heard about many problems with the principal.


Posted April 22, 2010

I found this school two years ago when I moved to the West Side. What a gold mine. Kind of has a worn-out look inside but the school is full of time honored values. Great student spirit, small student body, commitment to the basics and safe. The tuition is affordable and the faith lessons are every day values that i want to share them with the kids. Great choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

Wow This school has gone down hill! The school lookes nice on the surface but the teachers are not the same and the communication is horrible! I 2008 has not been it's year! What is going on. I miss the old school that was so good.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2007

St. Anthony has the unique distinction of working individually with children. The core staff has a very determined goal of keeping the school running full throttle. This school is fully dedicated to working with children previously branded as 'problematic'.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2007

Absoulutely Wonderful School. My son has made more progress emotionally and academically this year than he has in the last 4 years . I could not be more thrillled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2006

Asolutely wonderful school. Well worth paying tution for. Teachers are excellent, staff are freindly. Children get a wonderul education with spritual guidance. Please over look my mispellings, I should have gone to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 83% 93%
Black 10% 5%
Hispanic 4% 1%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1027 6th St
Charleston, WV 25302
Phone: (304) 346-8441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Charleston SDA School
Charleston, WV


Tyler Middle School
Charleston, WV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT