Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Agnes School

Private | PK-5 | 129 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Charleston

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $132,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $650.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 26, 2012

My child has attended this school. It is a wonderful school for pre-school through grade 5. The student to teacher ratio is super! When you are there it is a feeling of family! The academics and standardized test scores are very good! The school has a wonderful, loving, and supportive staff! The school is situated on many acres with a wonderful playground and open play area. I feel that the foundation for education and life that my child received there is something for which I am grateful!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My child is doing quite well at St. Agnes and I very much like the fact that parents are encouraged to be a part of the school through Read Aloud, lunch duty, playground duty, etc. Some of the staff changes in the last few years have been a definite upgrade. As for teacher-student ratio, the person who thinks it is higher than any public school in the state is totally clueless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

The teachers have very little flexibility when it comes to children with different learning styles. If a child isn't able to keep up or understand they seem to be left behind instead of nurtured. There are also too many children in a class for one teacher to handle. Some classes have a higher student teacher ratio than any pubic school in the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

Everyone at St. Agnes is friendly. This includes the teachers, parents, and staff. I have loved having my son there for the past 7 years. He will continue in the supportive, save environment that he has been in since he was 3 and I know that he will do well wherever he goes because of his start at St. Agnes School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 14, 2008

I agree with the parent about the outdated educational philosophies. There is no qualified staff to help with LD children. There is way too much busy work and the teachers quality surrffes in the 3rd and 4th grades.. Parent involvement is very much encouraged..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

Our son transferred to St. Agnes from St. Anthony's going into 5th grade. St. Agnes was a wonderful choice! It is a very cheerful place to grow and learn. Our son graduated 8th grade from St. Agnes and has not had any problems now that he is at GW high school. He is stays on the honor roll and St. Agnes really prepared him academically for the tough challenges of high school. Our family would recommend St. Agnes to all families looking for a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2007

Our 3 kids have done great academically and socially- we love the school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2006

My sons attended St. Agnes. One is now in college, the other still in high school. The boys' years there were a great experience for them and we all have the fondest memories of the school, staff and students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2006

I was sorely disappointed by this school and its affiliated daycare. They use a lot of worksheets and very old educational philosophies. My child was very, very unhappy there. Parent involvement is discouraged.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2006

This school has small classes and great parent involvement. The Principal has been an excellent administrator and guided this school through many changes over the years. A small core group of long-term teachers has sustained the academic reputation of the school. There have been a few disappointing teachers over the years, but the Principal has usually remedied the situation when required. There have been fluctuations in the school's cleanliness over the years, but it has improved in the past several months. The Pastor has been minimally involved and not visible at the school, but we are getting a new Pastor soon. This change, along with the many positives already noted should keep this a solid school for many years to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 93%
Asian 2% 1%
Hispanic 2% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Black 1% 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wheeling-Charleston
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4801 Staunton Ave SE
Charleston, WV 25304
Phone: (304) 925-4341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Carver Career Center
Charleston, WV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT