Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


15 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charleston Catholic High School 5

Posted November 02, 2011
- a parent
Charleston Catholic High School offers challenging classes, including Advanced Honors and various AP offerings. It employs accomplished teachers who cover the material well and encourage in-class discussion that enhances further understanding. The leadership fosters excellence through example and clearly communicates principles and values that create a supportive, respectful environment. Students are encouraged to excel in academia and sports. They have opportunity to meet before and after school in order to comprehend material if the meaning was missed in class. Also, leadership remain accessible to students. This inspires students to explore their interests by exploring ideas and conducting mature discussions. Students, therefore, realize greater acumen for the subjects and areas of study they enjoy and become more adept at fundamentals (such as analyzing, synthesizing, drawing correlations, and articulating views) in order to succeed in collegiate settings. CCHS's grading scale is set at a higher standard, more difficult than most, which requires students to work diligently. Although this requires greater effort, it helps students to prepare for demanding college programs.

Charleston Catholic High School 3

Posted March 25, 2010
- a student
Some of the teachers are great -- truly caring, bright individuals dedicated to learning-- and I received a solid education, one of the best available in town. However, bullying among students, especially 7th-8th grade boys, was a problem that teachers often didn't crack down on -- 'boys will be boys'. If you have a student who is ADHD, or with mild to medium executive disfunction, or simply a special case (difficulty with verbal processing, slow test taker, or simply a creative, outside-the-box thinker who struggles to follow rules), Charleston Catholic performed, when I was there (could be different now) a strictly average job. For students with no special learning needs, however, Chas. Catholic provides a great foundation for college. The sports emphasis will appeal to some more than others, and the costs -- well, the costs are to be expected. Quality private education costs money.


Charleston Catholic High School 5

Posted March 11, 2010
- a parent
Charleston Catholic provides a solid, college -prep education. The curriculum prepares graduates to transition easily to a college academic load. For a small school, the athletic teams are high-performing and very competitive. Most students participate in a sport. The facility is clean and orderly, with a cafeteria known to the students for serving delicious, healthy food. There are few discipline problems. Most teachers are fully proficient in their fields of study, with only a few weak faculty members. There is a small, core group of parent volunteers consistently helping out. Charleston Catholic exceeds mandated attendance days;snow days are infrequent. The principal, Mrs. Sullivan, and her adminustrative support staff do a fine job keeping the school running smoothly on an even keel at all times. I have two children who are graduates, and another soon will be. Is this school perfect? No. Is it close to perfect? Absolutely.

Charleston Catholic High School 1

Posted June 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Charleston Catholic High School 5

Posted March 11, 2009
- a student
Sending me to Charleston Catholic was the best decision my parents ever made. The teachers are great, Mrs. Sullivan our principal is amazing, and I definitely felt prepared for college after leaving Catholic. The sports programs are awesome, and since the school is small, everyone becomes like family. If I end up moving back to WV in the future, I will most certainly send my kids to CCHS


Charleston Catholic High School 5

Posted September 03, 2008
- a parent
My son enjoys going to this school. It would be nice if there were an actual band class after school from 3:00 to 3:45 every day, & I would be willing to pay extra to bring in a qualified instructor. Other high schools have actual band classes & their musicians learn a lot from scheduled daily practices in a structured environment. Your school is excellent & I am giving you all stars.

Charleston Catholic High School 2

Posted September 13, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Charleston Catholic High School 3

Posted September 13, 2007
- a former student
I was very disappointed in the academics while at CCHS. Many of my friends attended local public high schools and were better prepared for college than I. The Science Department lacks the technology and advancement than many public high schools have. I was not prepared for college as I entered the pre-med program. In addition, although the public view is that the academics receives much emphasis, I believe that many of the students were ill behaved and spoiled; which often influenced students grades. In addition, Father Sadie, was ruthless, did not present himself always as a positive role model and lacked the nurturing one would expect of a Catholic Priest; he was more of a politician than a role model. I did not enjoy my 'expensive' education at CCHS, although I achieved very high grades, it did not prepare me as I had expected.


Charleston Catholic High School 5

Posted November 04, 2006
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Charleston Catholic High School 3

Posted July 27, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charleston Catholic High School
1033 Virginia Street East, Charleston, WV  25301
(304) 342-8415
Last modified Charleston Catholic High School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Charleston Catholic High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top