Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted February 05, 2014
- a parent
Mountaineer Montessori used to be the best-kept secret in town. But that's changed as parents looking alternatives to one-size-fits-all education come to realize that no other school in the area comes close to what MMS offers. There is a waiting list at all class levels, and the school is expanding to a middle school next fall. Outstanding and challenging academics, in a nurturing environment, inspire your child to fulfill his potential. Incredible art, music and cultural programming led by world-class instructors. Faculty are highly experienced and have authentic Montessori certifications (not online training). If you're looking for the best for your child, look no further than MMS. After 40 years, they're on to something.

Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
If you want the best educational experience for your child in the entire state, look no further than Mountaineer Montessori. Our son has been a student since age 4, and is a third grader testing several grades above level (he is not alone...most kids perform way above their peers at other schools). Highly qualified, experienced teachers provide exceptional instruction in an authentic Montessori environment...developing your child's unique potential and promoting academic excellence and a lifetime love of learning. Unmatched arts (instructors from WVSO, Mountain Stage), PE (at UC pool and gym), onsite reading specialist, certified faculty, enriching after school and summer camps create an educational experience unmatched anywhere. The proof is in the pudding...four decades of graduates, who typically make up most of the National Merit and honor students at area high schools. Alumni are doctors, PhDs, lawyers and leaders helping to make the world a better place. Great kids, parents, teachers create a warm, nurturing, positive community where there is respect, courtesy and commitment to creating a better future for our children, our community and our world.


Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
Our son has been here over 3 years, this is an excellent program, We are very pleased with the staff at all levels. The teachers are dedicated, certified and this school has an over 30 year history of providing excellent education into the community. Superb academic and cultural issues and opportunities. Last year the school provided a program for parents explaining transitions from MMS to other schools. It was incredibly impressive. From high school, college and graduate school the former MMS students reported a love of reading, working independently and culturally aware. Just a first class operation that is professionally run by true Montessori educators. All Mountaineer Montessori lead teachers are AMS certified by proper training, not some online class. This is the real deal.

Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted August 08, 2010
- a teacher
All Mountaineer Montessori lead teachers are AMS certified! They are a super team and provide a quality education. This year's high school senior class had four National Merit scholars and one valedictorian, all MMS graduates.

Mountaineer Montessori School 1

Posted July 21, 2010
- a parent
This school is not Montessori accredited and some lead teacher lack college degrees. The tuition is higher than that of any other private school in the area.


Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted January 05, 2010
- a parent
This school is totally centered on doing what is right for your child. It's awesome.

Mountaineer Montessori School 0
no rating

Posted February 27, 2008
- a community member
I am an alumni of MMS. It was the best 8 years of my life. Though it did not fully prepare my socially for public school, it got me where I needed to be academically. Overall it is a great school.

Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted January 10, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Mountaineer Montessori School 1

Posted May 14, 2006
- a parent
My son used to go to this school for two years. He did very well and seemed to excell in everything. However, when he mainstreamed into high school, he was not prepared whatsoever and had a very, very hard time adjusting. Overall, I think this school should work on improving the quality of the academics.

Mountaineer Montessori School 5

Posted March 14, 2005
- a parent
My daughter is in her 7th year at MMS. She loves the school. I am thrilled that she has aquired a love of learning.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mountaineer Montessori School
308 20th Street Southeast, Charleston, WV  25304
(304) 342-7870
Last modified Mountaineer Montessori School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Mountaineer Montessori School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top