Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington-Irving Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 7, 2013

I have grandchildren that have gone to WI Middle and I believe it to be either the worst school in the state or at least close to the worst. I have now put grandchildren in private school to keep them away from WI. The teachers are horrible both as educators and as humans. I went to high school there but then at least the teachers then were interested in the students and they got respect because they showed respect and they deserved respect. Not now.


Posted September 5, 2013

I am a former student of WI, and all I can say is that I survived. It was horrible, and I still carry scars (emotional) from the time that I attended. I was shy and had awful experiences with many of the teachers. One woman in particular is still there, teaching 7th grade. She accused me of being disrespectful, uncooperative, etc. The problem was that I was so quiet I hated to explain or defend myself. I felt like she kept confusing me with other people, she kept calling me ally. She noticed if my homework was incomplete, but she never seemed to notice that I was getting bullied at my locker every day, just 4 ft from her. When parents say there is a bullying problem at this school, I believe them. The same teachers who ignored it then are ignoring it now. I don't see how a teacher can stand there and let boys yell at a girl that she is a fat cow, tell me that I stink, spray air freshener in my face and in my locker, and call me the B word. This happened right in front of them. When it's obvious the teachers don't care, there's no point in the victim speaking out. You come to believe all the insults are true, or else why wouldn't the adults stop them and help you?


Posted November 2, 2008

I was very unwilling to send my children to WI when my daughter began middle school. I have since changed my mind. I feel that it is one of the best schools in Harrison County. I have two children at WI MIDDLE and they both love it. My daughter is an 8th grader now and is involved in sports and from grade school through 8th she has been an honor roll student. She has had to work hard and study but she loves it. My son is a 6th grader this year and is also on the honor roll. He on the other hand doesnt study much and does well. I am invoved in my children's school activities and everyone in the office seems to be very nice. The best advise I can give someone is if your children are hard workers and you are involved they will be fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2007

As a parent of two students attending WI. I will comment that my two older children are both doing very well at this school. My daughter is in honors. I get a little tired of parents saying that bullies are more overpowering in this school than in any other. All schools will have their share of mischievous children. It is part of life. All children will encounter it at some point in time in their life. I have not noticed my children's grades dropping at all since attending WI. I think parents need to stop blaming schools for the outcome of their children's grades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2007

As a parent of a 6th grader I'm not happy with the school.My daughter was an honor student and now is barely passing.There are a few good teachers but most are poor teachers.There is one female 6th grade teacher who is rude to both students and parents.The teachers dont notify the parents if the students grades drop in class.That is the parents responsibility.They dont give homework to a sick child unless they miss more than three days of school.The main principal is one who carries favorites in the school as well as most of the teachers.There is alot of bullying within the school yet its ignored.Parents involvement is not welcomed nor their concerns.If there is a problem and you approach the staff or main principal the child is normally the blame.I cant believe how poorly the school is ran. Parents complain yet we are ignored as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2006

This is my second year at WI and I think ,instead of getting better as the principals say, it's getting worse. I could go on all day abot this school, but I think I have better things to do than to sit here and complain. C.K.G.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 28, 2006

The school has more then one problem. There are a few great teachers there, however there are also many poor teachers. My child is a 6th grader coming from a small community grade school where he excelled in every class with straight 'A . Since entering WI his grades have all dropped and he hates going to school. This is a new problem we never had before. I believe that the extracurricular activities at the school are only pushed to the 'pets' of the teachers in charge of the activities and very little opportunities are left open for the other students. Parent involvement is meet with hostility!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

WI in my opinion is a terrible school. Last year they had many stop bullying posters and they still walked right past the kids who were bullying others and did nothing. Finily when they got complaints the still did nothing.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 17, 2003

Washington Irving in my opinion is one of the best schools in Harrison County, I should know I go there after going to Gore for one year. I can tell you that I'm not the only student who thinks WI is a great school 9/10 students if you take a survey would say WI is a Really good school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

210 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

207 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
27%

2009

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 51% in 2012.

211 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

211 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 45% in 2012.

208 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 40% in 2012.

208 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 42% in 2012.

187 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

187 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 47% in 2012.

183 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

182 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
27%

2009

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Black42%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities60%

Reading

All Students50%
Black53%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities61%

Science

All Students40%
Black47%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities45%

Social Studies

All Students38%
Black37%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I38%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Black31%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities58%

Reading

All Students41%
Black54%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities48%

Science

All Students48%
Black31%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities16%
Students without disabilities54%

Social Studies

All Students40%
Black31%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities19%
Students without disabilities44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I43%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities51%

Reading

All Students45%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged29%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities54%

Science

All Students54%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I54%
Students with disabilities18%
Students without disabilities63%

Social Studies

All Students33%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Title I33%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 92%
Black 7% 5%
Hispanic 2% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

443 Lee Ave
Clarksburg, WV 26301
Phone: (304) 326-7420

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Notre Dame High School
Clarksburg, WV






Pressley Ridge School
Clarksburg, WV


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT