Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sherman Elementary School 3

Posted February 16, 2011
- a parent
Great school for academics, my daughter has learning disabilities and she has been provided some of what I feel is the best one on one teaching. With that comes my only complaint, the school needs to put in place an anti bullying program, like I said, my daughter is in special needs, she is also epileptic and the kids there constantly make fun, and bullying her. She has talked to the counselors, principal, etc. with no help. She s 11 and came home crying Monday, again, and this time she started talking about suicide!!! She s only 11 !! We are seeking outside help, and we will be talking to the school board, but you know the school board will do nothing.

Sherman Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
This school is great! My son was failing at his old school, then we moved here, he is making A'S and B's. He said the teacher's at this school don't get mad if you ask for help. His last school was awful, his old teacher's didn't want to teach them nothing. He don't want to miss school.


Sherman Elementary School 4

Posted June 04, 2008
- a parent
My P-K student has done remarkably better than I thought he might. His teachers have been great with teaching him the way HE needs taught.

Sherman Elementary School 2

Posted June 02, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sherman Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2007
- a parent
This is the best school in WV. The teachers are just great, and actually care about the students. They believe in teaching them. I have recently moved out of state, and after the new school my child is attending did I realize how great Sherman is. As for the complaints in the office area, I do agree that it isn't the best. But when it comes the the educational level, you couldn't ask for more. Thanks Sherman Elementary You are the BEST!


Sherman Elementary School 5

Posted March 01, 2007
- a parent
Sherman Elementary is one of the best schools in the state. I know this because I have several hours of field experience in schools all over this, and neighboring counties. I would not send my children to any other school. The education they are receiving is 'top of the line' and the structure of the school is excellent. Safety of the students should be every school's top priority. Parents should realize this and thank them for having a tight dismissal procedure. I have been in schools that are very chaotic and the teacher's cannot be sure that every child goes where they need to go at the end of the day. I can be sure that my children and their teachers know where they go after each school day comes to an end.

Sherman Elementary School 3

Posted August 05, 2005
- a parent
School is holding over 500 children, and cannot hold an assembly for the whole school at once, because the gym which is also the cafeteria is too small. It is true if you pick up your child you will be adding 15-20 minutes on there schedule, because the school will not release your child till the buses have pulled out. I also agree they need to work on making the parents feel welcomed. If you go into the office you will wait 10 minutes to get acknowledged. You cannot get through by phone, the line is always busy. Your child will learn, because starting in first grade they will send homework home 4 nights a week, which is overwhelming for a 6 year old.

Sherman Elementary School 5

Posted March 17, 2005
- a parent
This is the best school in West Virginia . No exeptions! The principle is one of the best. My children are very well taught. The school is and always will be West Virginias top grade school.


Sherman Elementary School 3

Posted September 13, 2004
- a parent
Sherman Elementary is a nice country school. There are several areas that could be improved. More general information for parents, with an improvement in welcoming parents at anytime. There are several disadvantages for this school the gym is very small and cannot hold all the students at one time. Getting your children on the bus is another crucial time, and once again if the parents pick up there children you will wait an extra 15-20 mninutes a day waiting for the buses to get loaded. When dismissal is at 3:52 and there not getting out till 10 after 4 this is way to long! Small classrooms with teachers holding 23-25 students at a time, equals no individualized attention for your child.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sherman Elementary School
7487 Coal River Rd, Comfort, WV  25049
(304) 837-8310
Last modified Sherman Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sherman Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top