Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

The teachers are supportive and provide a variety of instructional strategies to help students learn. Great staff and many programs to reach all students.
April 18, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 42 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Elkview Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a teacher
The staff and students care about their school. They all work well together. They take pride in their school. Working together to beautify the outside for the public to admire and also keep it clean on the inside while displaying their achievements.

Elkview Middle School 5

Posted April 18, 2016
- a school leader
The teachers are supportive and provide a variety of instructional strategies to help students learn. Great staff and many programs to reach all students.


Elkview Middle School 5

Posted January 04, 2013
- a community member
I love Elkview Middle School. There are only two teachers I like. The teachers are Mrs. Henry and Mrs Reed they are the best two teachers ever, but thank you for english miss jarrett if i didnt have u i wouldnt have my writing skills up already. I love miss henry because her first period is the best she love every kid but she loves first period the most. I just hope i dont move anytime soon.

Elkview Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2011
- a community member
EMS is like the worst school ever, I'm currently in 8th grade and I hate it. I cannont tell you how much I'm looking forward to high school. 7th grade was my only good year and it was only because I had Mrs. Lancaster and Mr. Bailey. They are the best teachers you will ever have. I would not recomed Elkview for any student. Most of the staff if horrible and the students are disrespectful aswell. I'm VERY dissapointed in this school educational facility.

Elkview Middle School 1

Posted March 02, 2011
- a parent
I am very upset with the quality of education my children receive at this school and what classes they actually have to offer. Students have to repeat the same classes because the school does not have anything else to offer the students. The staff and leadership seem to be OK with mediocre instead of trying to raise the bar and challenge the kids to want to do more. It is very frustrating for me as a parent to have to fight for my kids education and they act as if they don't care.


Elkview Middle School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a student
EMS is a good school and the teachers care. Mrs henry is the best math teacher ever. Im happy to attend EMS

Elkview Middle School
no rating

Posted October 22, 2009
- a parent
It would be nice if the teachers actually cared. This is my son's first year and let me tell you, it's been culture shock! He's always been on the honor roll throughout elementary school now, at Elkview Middle the teachers let them do tests over and have way too many open-book tests! He's starting to have the 'I don't have to learn this because the teacher will just give it back to me later to do over if I don't make a good grade attitude'. It's very frustrating for me to watch his attitude change so fast. I have also encountered a problem with the teachers letting them get their cell phones, Ipods, PSP's out and PLAY with them if they don't want to go over anything. I don't let my son take these things to school, but he just plays with everyone else's anyway. They also have substitutes a lot.

Elkview Middle School 3

Posted May 10, 2006
- a parent
Well where do I start! I am very upset over this school year my son is in the 8th grade and has had a sub all year in math and he is behind...Mind you he has always been a straight 'A' student. I have talked to the principal about the matter but got nowhere! now I am sending my son to tutoring over the summer so he won't be left behind when he enters high school....I would tell you to make sure if you are sending your child here to check out the system first....We need some change here....The math department is lacking and so is the english department in the 7th grade.


Elkview Middle School 2

Posted January 06, 2006
- a student
Hey I go to this school and I will tell you right now it's not a very good school they don't take to time to explain things to us they need to do better things then give the kids a hard time.

Elkview Middle School 5

Posted December 05, 2005
- a student
I think EMS is a great school. The staff are friendly and most of the students are, too. All of my teachers so far have made sure that I understand the material and cover it thoroughly. I think Elkview Middle is a great place to send your kids, and it's where I'll send mine.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Elkview Middle School
5090 North Elk River Rd, Elkview, WV  25071
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 42 reviews. (304) 965-7091
Last modified Elkview Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top