Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public district
Fairmont, WV
Students enrolled: 389
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


East Park Elementary School 5

Posted December 28, 2012
- a parent
Wonderful school. The teachers are caring and work hard to ensure that each student gets a good education.

East Park Elementary School 5

Posted March 29, 2011
- a parent
Love the teachers and the Title I program!! My son is learning so much. The teachers really care about the kids. They make time for the parents if they have a question or concerns.


East Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
they take the time to teach the children, not 'slide' them along.

East Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted August 20, 2008
- a parent
My son will be in the 3rd grade this year, and loves coming to East Park. The Boys & Girls Club after school program is a huge plus for the school also.

East Park Elementary School
no rating

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
I am a parent of 2 students at East Park. We have had experience with another school in Marion County, but choose to go to East Park. We are very pleased with the current principal--Mrs. Hendershot seems to be very effective--she's made improvements to the school, she's nice to the students, but keeps an authoratative manner. She's exactly what they need at the junior high level, but that's another story...My children have teachers that know them well, encourage them, allow them to excel--what you would expect in a teacher. Of course, there are going to be personality conflicts now and again, and there are teachers that my older child did not respond well to, but that's true of every school. Here it seems to be the exception, rather than the rule, though.


East Park Elementary School 5

Posted April 16, 2006
- a parent
My child is currently attending East Park. I consider it a well kept secret. There are a few problems but the principal and staff are working to correct them. I am very pleased.

East Park Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2005
- a parent
My children went to this school and I found it to be a wonderful learning community. The teachers are well-trained and enthusiastic about teaching. There are several nationally board certified teachers there as well as national math and science teachers. The school was a 2004-2005 Blue Ribbon school of Excellence. The halls are orderly and safe. The lunchroom is a place where children can talk quietly while eating. I think that this school is a well kept secret in Marion county. There are afterschool clubs, sports, and extracurricular activities available as well as a school yearbook and monthly newsletter and calendar.

East Park Elementary School 1

Posted January 30, 2005
- a parent
I am a parent of a child a East Park. This school is K-6th grade. If you want your child going to school in a 'prison' this is where to send them. The children are not permitted to talk before/after school in the bus room, they are not permiited to talk in the halls, nor are they allowed to talk during lunch. When it comes to class trips, there are very few, usually only a few classes take class trips, but yet all kids are asked to participate in fund raisers. The school send 'homework' over the holidays and snow days. The current principal has made a no dance rule.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

East Park Elementary School
1025 Fairfax St, Fairmont, WV  26554
(304) 367-2134
Last modified East Park Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
East Park Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top