Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watson Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 450 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2012

i have had nothing but problems with this school. the communication stinks from the princeple down to the teachers. my kids will be in a different school next year. parents if you care for your kids education stay away from here because they dont!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

Terrible school, terrible principle. Some good staff, but mostly terrible. Some are passive aggressive, and some just don't care. This school needs walls, and a principle that actually cares. The best thing I ever did was transfer my child. He is doing awesome at his new school. And he is much happier...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

This school is in poor shape, both physically with its outdated and ineffective "open classroom" concept, and from an administrative leadership position. Hauling children to sit in the principal's office and turning the lights off in the lunchroom while forcing them to eat silently appear to be the only methods by which children's behaviors are contained. I think it is rather telling that three of my child's kindergarten peers were pulled out by their parents and enrolled in other elementary schools within the first few weeks of the year. One of the kindergarten teachers quit in October she was so frustrated with the school. We are fortunate to have an excellent teacher this year, but have already started looking for a school that will accept transfers for first grade. There is no excuse for the chaos that reigns at this elementary school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

Watson Elementary is in desperate need of improvement - both physically and administratively. Our daughter attended kindergarten at Watson this fall for five weeks until we transferred her to another area school. In her short time there, she was witness to children kicking, hitting and spitting on her teacher; students were repeatedly suspended for bad behavior; her classroom was evacuated due to an unruly student and she often ate lunch in the dark. While I feel that the teachers are trying their best, they are receiving no support from administration and these issues are being hidden from the public. This school is not conducive to learning for our children! The Board of Ed. needs to investigate what is going on at Watson - in one month I have learned of 11 students transferring and a Kindergarten teacher resigning. Unacceptable!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Teachers at Watson work hard trying to meet the needs of the children. We have many lower economic children. Some of us work 10 hour days planning for these children.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 26, 2009

I'm new here at Watson. The new principal is wonderful and the teachers do very well given the limitations of the facility. It is stunning to me that walls aren't built. These wonderful children and their instructors could do so much more if they had quiet to study and to reflect.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 24, 2009

I think that the layout of Watson causes problems. There are no separate classrooms. So the teachers seem to have to be very noise-conscious and have to limit their activities and punish the noisy kids more than normal. If the school had walls for their classrooms, plus if they had a separate gym for wintertime recess (this room is also used as a lunchroom currently), the school would be better. I am not a big fan of the principal either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2009

My child is a kindergartner at Watson. I don't like that kindergarten is a full day, no naps, and during the winter, kids don't get recess, they get put in front of the TV.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

Watson Elementary has the very best interests of the students at heart! The entire staff goes above and beyond on a daily basis to meet the academic needs and social/emotional needs of the children under their care.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 27, 2006

My son attended this school in K and 1st. He loved it! I loved it! How often does that happen? We had a few struggles but nothing over the top. He grew academically and socially in this moral, education based environment. I did, however, have issues with the principal from time to time. It seemed as if he was more interested in his title than his position. My son felt that he was unapproachable; furthermore, it seemed as if there was more concern for raising money than education at times. Librarian was amazing! Art, music and physical education were wonderful! His teachers were phenominal! All in all, you will love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

62 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
26%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
30%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Black33%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Title I65%
Students with disabilities43%
Students without disabilities71%

Reading

All Students50%
Black50%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I50%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities54%

Science

All Students40%
Black25%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities21%
Students without disabilities46%

Social Studies

All Students29%
Black8%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Title I29%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I32%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities37%

Reading

All Students27%
Black24%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Title I27%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities29%

Science

All Students23%
Black24%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Title I23%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities24%

Social Studies

All Students19%
Black6%
Economically disadvantaged10%
Title I19%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 92%
Black 19% 5%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Hispanic 2% 1%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1579 Mary Lou Retton Dr
Fairmont, WV 26554
Phone: (304) 367-2156

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Act Academy
Fairmont, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT