Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Huntington High School

Public | 9-12 | 1609 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 21, 2012

This school is the epitome of bad education. My courseload of all AP classes rarely garners outside work or research. I can glide without any participation whatsoever, and I still receive A's. Teachers do not strive to make progress in students, and they are ineffective at their goals. Most students lack any motivation whatsoever, and skip class regularly. Administrators do not help the situation, and focus on petty violations like dress code and lunches. This school has a massive truancy problem that has yet to resolved even after intervention by the courts. WESTEST scores show that this school is not succeeding at its job. A smart parent would avoid this school at all costs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 22, 2011

I graduated from HHS in 2009. When I first came to this school I enjoyed the freedoms of a diverse and wonderfully taught school. The teachers knew what they were doing and I was able to find a niche in the student body. It all went downhill in 2006, the year they instituted the Freshman Academy program. That place is now little more than a glorified baby sitting service. Most of the good teachers retired about the same time several fresh, new teachers were hired. Unfortunately, fresh and new doesn't guarantee they knew what they were doing. By the time I graduated, there were cuts to the funding and staff of the music department (there goes arts enrichment) and I was sleeping through every class I was taking while still making good grades. I wrote all of two papers my last two years in high school. That shouldn't have been possible. Also, the administration there was a joke. Not only did they take away every privilege they could, such as eating lunch outside, they instituted a tardy system that couldn't have helped learning. If you weren't on time for class, even by a few seconds, you couldn't go. You were sent to inhouse detention, or alternative school after three offenses.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2011

Sending my child to Huntingto High was the biggest mistake. The teachers only support the athletes and cheerleaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

Nice physical facility. Disappointing curriculum for a consolidated school that was supposed to offer more. Does not meet the smart kids expectations. Has to cater to the special ed. crowd.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2008

I honestly don't think that the school is all that great. There are teachers that care about the students, but there are more that are there just for the pay check and pick favorites. A few of my friends have left because of unfair treatment. I'm not very satisfied with the disipline either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 25, 2007

I graduated in 2006 and am now going to Marshall University. Overall, I enjoyed going to Huntington High and felt they gave me many different opportunities. I was in the Chamber choir and show choir..and it was so much fun! Great emphasis is put on sports though, so the music and theatre departments doesn't get much money/support. Most of my teachers were very nice and personable. Not a bad school at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 18, 2006

My son is a Junior at HHS and our experience on 'the hill' has been positive! His teachers, counselor, coaches and principal respond to email and voicemail in a timely manner and show genuine concern. Of course, there is a requirement of the student to behave properly and participate appropriately in the classroom and on and off the playing field. The academics far exceed college entry requirements, w/ multiple opportunities to be involved in music, art, sports of all kinds, etc. I find that many parents are present and active at Huntington High! Whether supporting their child, the team or the school in general, we at HHS have a good attendance and turnout for all events, academic OR athletic. I recommend HHS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2005

I am military and have transfered to many places, and have been in many school systems. The opportunities at Huntington High are outstanding. No matter what your child is interested in there is a program available. I am confident my children are getting a quality education academically. They are also given the chance to follow their creative interests. Both of my children play sports and the boosters program is very active and involved. Being a small area there is a lot of parent involvement in the education and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2005

As a proud graduate from Huntington High School Class of 2002, I rate this school very highly on teachers and adminstrators of Cabell County School Board. For example, I have Attention Defict Hyperactive Disorder (ADHD) and Cabell County School Board has a program called the 504 plan for parents of students in Cabell County with a Learning Disabilites. What the program is about that the teacher can have that one on one with the student with a Learning Disability,to get that little extra help if they have problem with the work that was giving to. It also is an advantage to the parents of student who has a Learning Disability, to get Weekley Overviews on the progress on how their child is doing in class and what plans that the teacher has for the class during the week and beyond the school year. The teachers do care at HHS.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 2, 2005

Huntington high school offers a quality of education not available in smaller and older schools. It offers not only the basics but also has enough size to offer electives in all subject areas. The opportunity to excel exists there if students and parents dedicate themselves to that goal. With several up-to-date computer labs, a modern library, and technology integration in the classroom, the school certainly offers the opportunity for varied experiences in learning. Standards and expectations are high as they should be. It is a high school. Isn't the goal of school an education? Because the school has a varied population, it offers each student the opportunity to deal with people from many different backgrounds. It has been my experience that parental involvement is minimal and usually is negative rather than positive in nature.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 1, 2005

I wouldn't recommend this school to anyone. There are too many fights and problems there. My daughter wants to leave this school because she can't take the humanities classes she took at Cabell Midland. I don't think the teachers are very involved with the students. If I were to recommend a school to other parents, it wouldn't be Huntington High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

As a parent of a Student at Huntington High School, I rate this school very highly. Parents are invited to come and talk to teachers, and are always welcome. The staff are there to answer your questions and help with answers. I would recommend Huntington High School to any Parent. This School is wonderful with academics and well and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2004

As a student at Huntington High School I love it. As far as some of the teachers going through the motions that might be true but so are some of the parents. West Virgina is poor. It affects everyone teachers, parents even students, but HHS doesn't care about that no matter how much the money we(we meaning HHS) don't have affects us. There are oppourtunities at HHS that other schools (not only in West Virginia but also in other states as well)do not have or are not exposed to. At HHS you get it all.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 11, 2003

There are some AP programs for accelerated students. Some teachers truly care about their students, but far too many are going through the motions. There is an emphasis on athletics. The band is improving and the chamber choir is quite good but the show choir and theater programs are a shambles. The school is safe (some people assume otherwise because of the presence of minority students). But perhaps because of its size and continuing animosity toward the consolidation with Huntington East several years back, there is very little school spirit.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

455 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
28%

2009

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

456 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
24%

2009

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

448 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
27%

2009

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

453 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
36%

2009

 
 
57%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

366 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
34%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

366 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

366 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

333 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

332 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

325 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Black23%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Title I35%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities38%

Reading

All Students45%
Black47%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I45%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities49%

Science

All Students25%
Black13%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Title I25%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities28%

Social Studies

All Students40%
Black34%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities43%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Black24%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I43%
Students with disabilities12%
Students without disabilities48%

Reading

All Students47%
Black32%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities5%
Students without disabilities52%

Social Studies

All Students46%
Black29%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities7%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Black34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities52%

Reading

All Students46%
Black34%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities49%

Social Studies

All Students39%
Black22%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities10%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 92%
Black 17% 5%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Highlander Way
Huntington, WV 25701
Phone: (304) 528-6400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Covenant School
Huntington, WV




Grace Christian School
Huntington, WV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT