Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Spring Valley High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2010

I interned at SVHS and it was a great experience..the staff were very helpful, the students pretty well behaved and the administration works hard to keep things in tact. They really need another vice principal and secretary to help out.


Posted November 20, 2009

This is my third year at SVHS..I love it. Most of the teachers are very helpful. I like my counselor and it's been pretty cool so far. I like it because we have a female vice principal too.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2009

My son has been attending SVHS just this year. So far things have gone well. The administration, in particular Mr. Swan helped us by having a pep talk with my son. I appreciate him taking time out in a busy school to do so. One suggestion for the teachers would be more hands on with the students and really try to help them succeed. Another suggestion.. for the school district is to lower their graduation requirements for incoming students. These need to be consistent with the surrounding states. Therefore, when a student moves into Wayne County schools, they do not start behind everyone else here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

Both my sons went to SVHS. The school is much better than a few years ago. The assistant principals work together, discipline is better, and school atmosphere is much more positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

My daughter goes to SVHS - 4.0 GPA - loves the school and all the staff. I have no complaints. A great experience so far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

I think that SVHS is a spectacular school. Everything is not perfect but I feel so blessed to be able to go to school here with my friends and make great memories and lurn enough for me to get a great job in 2 years.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

My son is a senior at Spring Valley High School this year. I believe his school experience has been enjoyable to him. He has really enjoyed most of his teachers. I never had any problems with Ms. Staley and neither did my son. He says that the atmosphere at the school is a lot better since Ms. Staley is no longer there. By the way, my son has a 3.8 grade average. That says something about the quality of teachers that are employed there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2007

I have been attending SVHS for 2 years now, and I love our school. No, we don't have a lot of team/school spirit, and we do have smoking and God knows what else going on in some areas. But all high schools in this day and time do. You can get a good education wherever you go as long as you put yourself to it. True, some of our teachers do slack, but all the other ones that don't are really awesome. I'm glad my high school experience is happening here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2007

We just love this school. I have been pleased with everything from the administration to academics, teachers and extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

My son is a student at SVHS and has been for the past three years. The new principal is much friendlier and seems to back his administrative team. The new administrative team seems to working together to benefit the students and the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

I have 2 children enrolled at Spring Valley. The new principal is very approachable, and discipline is much better. The current administration team are making the needed changes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2006

This is my Senior year at SVHS and I can honestly say that the biggest improvement in the school has been the discipline. Those who feel that the students run wild are misinformed. The reason that breaks were cut back from 10 minutes to 6 minutes was that students had too much free time and not enough time in the classroom. Not only that, but the longer the students had for break the more time they had to go into the bathrooms and smoke and to goof off and cause saftey issues. If anything the cutbacks on the breaks were one of the best things that could've happened as far as discipline goes. Another wonderful aspect of going to school at SVHS is that studnets can get a headstart on college by taking classes through Marshall University on SVHS campus. Overall, SVHS is a great school to go to to LEARN.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2006

I think someone needs to change the thinking of the teachers and administrators at this school and maybe the students will be more enthusiastic about the school also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I don't agree with Ms. Staley's methods at all. School is about learning but it can be fun at the same time. Ms. Staley has taken/shorten their breaks, pep rallys, and their dances. These kids are only in high school once. Give them something to remember.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2006

I have not found anything good at SVHS since my daughter started there. The teachers have no concern for the students who are having problems learning, when they ask for help their response is that I put an example on the board, now read it and figure it out for yourself. If the teachers would put down their coffee and snacks and spend a little more time with the kids who are having problems then maybe we would have a few more kids graduating and being able to go on to college and making something of themselves. Quit picking out teachers pets and only helping them, help all the students equal, especially when they ask for help. SVHS is a big school with an image to live up to the only problem is that some of the kids are being left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2006

The teachers feel limited as to what they can teach, therefore students are missing out on a quality education. Some of the teachers will try to help students but most are selective as to who they teach and unless you're a cheerleader or football player they won't offer you any extra help or anything. I feel sorry for the current students and the future students because the admnistration is on a big power trip and they honestly don't care about them. The former principals. knew practically everybody by name without them being a trouble maker or jock. Bring back the principals that care about the students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 12, 2006

I think the teachers do the best they can in a terrible situation at this school. There is no discipline, the kids run wild because they can get away with everything, they use tobacco in class, they smoke in the bathrooms, they tear the school up, no wonder there is no school pride. There are no pep rallies due to student behavior-why not keep the BAD kids inside during the pep assembly and let the GOOD kids go have some fun and enjoy school spirit? My children are very well behaved and they feel like the bad kids run the school and the teachers are too busy having to call parents and deal with bad kids because the principals don't do their jobs, so my kids get overlooked. My kids feel like they are being held back in their classes because there are no honors classes offered. We need some change!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

My daughter attends SVHS and the difference between the past two years is wonderful. It is evident the three female administrators are working hard to improve the conditions at the school. The total atmosphere at Spring Valley is changing--it's about time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

My son has been attending this school for 2 years and i also have a daughter that has been attending this school for 4 years and i have came to the assumption that this school was a lot better last year before mrs. staley became the principle. i mean before her the students had more time for breaks and now with these 6 minute breaks my son is late every day for class and the smoking in the bathrooms are terrible. my son's asthuma acts up every time he uses the rest room and they removed the mirors in the bathrooms and i dont know what that is about because you know that kids are going to want to check themselves and i think that this nw principlke needs to rethink some of her methods and remove these smokers not the mirors.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 2, 2005

My daughter is not impressed with this school. She feels that the teachers are limited on what they can teach because of unnecessary requirements. There also is no discipline as far as students smoking on campus, including in the restrooms during the school day. The schedule recently was changed limiting time between classes to 6 minutes which causes problems getting to certain classes. Some of the classes are at the vo-tech which is a bus ride away. The principals seem to be more concerned with their 'power' than academics. For three years my daughter has begged me to let her change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2012.

269 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

270 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 31% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

271 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 43% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
32%

2009

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 45% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
51%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 48% in 2012.

234 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
60%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

236 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

229 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
33%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities45%

Reading

All Students47%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I47%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities51%

Science

All Students25%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged14%
Title I25%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities29%

Social Studies

All Students31%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged19%
Title I31%
Students with disabilities9%
Students without disabilities34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I46%
Students with disabilities8%
Students without disabilities50%

Reading

All Students52%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged39%
Title I52%
Students with disabilities4%
Students without disabilities59%

Social Studies

All Students44%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged27%
Title I44%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Title I43%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities48%

Reading

All Students43%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I43%
Students with disabilities14%
Students without disabilities49%

Social Studies

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities6%
Students without disabilities0%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 92%
Black 1% 5%
Hispanic 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 43%N/A53%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Timberwolf Dr
Huntington, WV 25704
Phone: (304) 429-1699

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Barboursville School
Barboursville, WV




Huntington High School
Huntington, WV




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT