Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kellogg Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 522 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2014

Teachers are great except for the vice principal I find that he was a little to rough for the kids and the substitutes are TERRIBLE made my friend cry. And I find that one of the first grade teachers didn't really help with some if the students reading. Everything is great except for the vice principal and most of the substitutes one of them my daughter absolutely Adored!


Posted May 19, 2011

The teacher are great but the principal has to go.. Ms. Francis was the best, Damron was just a bad mistake. Instead of working to help students she helps herself. Doctor I think not!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

Kellogg has much to offer. The teachers are all wonderful. I do however think that the greatest downfall of a school it's size is the vertical grouping. Kellogg students are left in the same group of children from kindergarten-5th grade. If by the luck of the draw or the hand that picks your child is put in a "good group" you may not notice the difference. I feel that leaving children in the same classroom for six years will hinder more than their social skills. I feel that too many children are being left behind because teachers have to teach to the middle group. To me a wonderful school would recognize that some children need more help while others need to be challenged. Teachers are often overloaded with behavioral, emotional, and learning disabilities with little to no extra help. Anyone who believes that no child is being left behind needs to spend a day in the classroom. I say no to vertical grouping!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

AT THIS SCHOOL I HAVE LEARNED THAT YOU HAVE TO BE IN THE "MOMMY CLICK" AS FOR THE PRINCIPAL......WOW! NOT GOOD!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

We as parents are still getting a school supply list. They now call it a "Wish List". Our taxes should be buying these essential items. If there isn't enough money in the budget, then they should cut some fat/ dead-weight out! If Cabell Co. gave give each student a backpack full of supplies, then Wayne Co. should be able too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2010

It is a great school. The teachers are very caring and give the kids the attention they need to succeed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

It is just a great school. My grand-daughter is making honor roll grades because of the teachers wonderful teachings. I am proud that she goes to Kellogg.


Posted April 20, 2010

I love Kellogg Elementary because the children are wonderful and full of Tiger Pride! Everywhere I go around town I see Tiger Paw prints on people's cars .. letting everyone know they are part of Kellogg Elementary. It makes me smile to see a community so proud and connected!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

I love Kellogg because, they take great care of my kids. I know that my kids will allways be safe there. They are #1 in the country!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

wonderful school! small enough that everybody knows everybody and class size is relatively small, large enough for lots of opportunity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

My children really like it down there. They love their friends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

wonderful learning atsmophere teachers are very caring....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2010

Because this family we have here is always ready to help one another through all things that have a need. IF something is in need at our school we find a way to fill that need and fill it well. we love our school and community, we are #1 in the county. I can't imagine sending my kid anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2009

i have a child that started kindergarten this year. I couldn't be more impressed with his education. I love his teacher, she is so on top of things. The safety precautions that they have in place are wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

great school....everyone seems very involved in the kids education and overall wellbeing
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2009

I have one child in the first grade at Kellogg and one getting ready to start school and couldn't be more happy with the school, the staff, and all the new technology. It is an awsome school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2009

Our family recently moved into the area. I have three children who are attending. I am not happy with this school. The children are not allowed enough gross motor play time outside. The school is understaffed, with no aides to help the teachers in the classroom or on the playground. There are too many other issues to go into on here as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2005

I have 3 children who all have attended or are attending Kellogg. I have the highest regard for the staff & faculty here. The parents also are wonderful and willing to work and do whatever is necessary to help make Kellogg great. Kellogg is ranked a school of excellence and an exemplary school. This has been achieved because of the combination of faculty, staff & parents. I highly recommend Kellogg Elementary School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 50% in 2012.

78 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 43% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
45%

2009

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 37% in 2012.

77 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
59%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 45% in 2012.

76 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 36% in 2012.

74 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 35% in 2012.

75 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 50% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 51% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2012.

88 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 34% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
27%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Title I67%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities71%

Reading

All Students71%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged62%
Title I71%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities76%

Science

All Students48%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I48%
Students with disabilities26%
Students without disabilities55%

Social Studies

All Students40%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged22%
Title I40%
Students with disabilities11%
Students without disabilities50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students49%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged36%
Title I49%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities54%

Reading

All Students55%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged45%
Title I55%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities59%

Science

All Students34%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged30%
Title I34%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities33%

Social Studies

All Students39%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged33%
Title I39%
Students with disabilities32%
Students without disabilities41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Title I61%
Students with disabilities58%
Students without disabilities62%

Reading

All Students60%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged52%
Title I60%
Students with disabilities17%
Students without disabilities67%

Science

All Students51%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged37%
Title I51%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities55%

Social Studies

All Students41%
Blackn/a
Economically disadvantaged28%
Title I41%
Students with disabilities45%
Students without disabilities41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 West Virginia used the West Virginia Educational Standards Test 2 (WESTEST 2) to test students in grades 3 through 11 in reading, math and social studies, and grades 3 through 9 in science. The WESTEST 2 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of West Virginia. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level on the test.

The different student groups are identified by the West Virginia Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: West Virginia Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 92%
Black 1% 5%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A51%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4415 Piedmont Rd
Huntington, WV 25704
Phone: (304) 429-4441

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Grace Christian School
Huntington, WV



Covenant School
Huntington, WV



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT